Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Winnebago General Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-30-2012, 10:07 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

A Factory Visit - Behind The Scenes

I have a job that keeps me busy, away from my RV except for vacation time, but it also takes me to some interesting places. This week I had the opportunity to install some computer storage equipment in the datacenter at the Winnebago factory in Forest City. I've been doing this type of work for about 30 years and have come to the conclusion that you can tell a lot about a company from their datacenter and the people that operate it.

My impression about the company is that it is a small company that builds big things. I mean this in a good way. Some companies have a big company attitude in that the employees think they are special and that customers should feel privileged doing business with them.

I happen to volunteer, to the group I was working with, that I have owned several Winnebagos over the years including my current rig, a 2003 Journey DL. When I arrived this week the contact at Winnebago introduced me to various people in the IT group. So many times I would hear "Is this the guy that owns the Journey"? They seemed proud that I was a customer of theirs.

The contact I was working with had worked for the company since the late '70s. He had tons of insight into the company's history and their venture into other "businesses". A common theme was "That didn't work so well, so we went back to what we do best, building motorhomes".