Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-25-2016, 11:45 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

RV Shower Leak

I'm a newbie (or whatever it may be called) - I just purchased a new-to-me 2013 Winnebago Aspect, that only had 4200 miles on it so I don't think it was used much at all. I have never owned a motor home, or travel trailer even, before and am trying to figure out all I need to know before going on a trip. I started looking at all the water "things" last night and when I turned on the shower it immediately started leaking - I didn't have it on but a few seconds and I believe ALL the water came out on the floor. It also leaked under the bin below where the shower is (and appears it has done that before). Is there something I should've done prior to turning on the shower? Is there something I can check and/or do to fix this problem?

Any advice is very much appreciated! Thank you! Tom
lmyers59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 02:11 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise

:welcome:

Tom
Some first thoughts:
- Get a LED flashlight and a small mirror and get a look at everything under the shower you can
- Gain access through the bin you described as possible
- Take a look at the wall of any adjoining cabinets - is there some sort of a wiring or plumbing chase that will help you get a look
- Consider renting a video set-up to get into some tight spaces to help (before cutting access holes)
- Check to see if the drain is seated in plumber's putty or something similar - may even be worthwhile to take the drain apart and see if its cracked (or even connected)