Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-25-2007, 12:04 PM   #1
Winnie-Wise

I finally got to "drain the hot water tank" on the To-Do list. This is my first time. I searched the forum and did not find any "process" so I figured the Atwood instructions that came with the RV would be sufficient. And mostly they were.

Our 2004, 36G Journey has an Atwood 10 gallon tank, model GCH10A-4E. Since I do not have any other RV hot water heater tank draining experience I do not know how universal my experience will apply.

We park in a paved storage yard so I wanted to drain into a bucket. I used two five gallon buckets so I could alternate them as they filled. Other forum members have discussed whether to replace the existing Atwood " nylon drain plug with a new Atwood nylon drain plug or use PVC or a metal one. The Atwood people suggested against the metal plug to prevent cross threading damage to the inlet port and potential corrosion. They had no comment regarding the PVC. I just stuck with their nylon plug. You can purchase them at RV Upgrade. A spare or two would be handy.

After making sure the water pump was off, I backed the nylon drain plug out and immediately inserted a " x 9" sprinkler stand off pipe. It uses the same thread pattern. This standoff pipe extended the water drain out to the bucket. I then opened up the relief valve to allow air into the tank and the water flowed very nicely.

When the water stopped draining I removed the relief valve to gain access to the relief valve inlet so I could flush out the tank. To do this it makes it easier to remove the flue box assembly. It only takes the removal of two small metal screws.