Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Tech | Toys and Gear
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 11-11-2008, 04:06 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

I've read many, many, many old posts about dealing with the hiss & hum in the Q Surround sound systems. What I haven't read is: has anyone found a "fix?" I'm wondering if an RCA loop filter will work? I'm an accountant - know nothing about electronics - but from what I'm reading online, it seems that it may help. For about $15 it seems worth a try to me.

On another note: does anyone else have the exterior entertainment center on their 40AD? The radio/CD/DVD system has RCA plugs coming INTO the unit - what do they connect from?

Prior RVs: Avion travel trailer and Itasca Horizon class A
MarkCinCLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 04:06 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I've read many, many, many old posts about dealing with the hiss & hum in the Q Surround sound systems. What I haven't read is: has anyone found a "fix?" I'm wondering if an RCA loop filter will work? I'm an accountant - know nothing about electronics - but from what I'm reading online, it seems that it may help. For about $15 it seems worth a try to me.

On another note: does anyone else have the exterior entertainment center on their 40AD? The radio/CD/DVD system has RCA plugs coming INTO the unit - what do they connect from?

Old 11-11-2008, 11:23 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

That is the worst system that Winnebago could have installed. I installed a ground loop isolator (as per Winnebago support)and it may have helped. It is not very expensive but the one from Radio Shack did not have the right plugs.
On the exterior radio one of the plugs is probably the antenna.

2005 Itasca Horizon 40 AD
ms911 is offline   Reply With Quote