Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-23-2018, 05:42 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Hanger bolt on slideout rails broke, now what?

Hi all,

I recently purchased a diesel pusher. It is a 1998 Itasca Sunflyer. Given its age, I knew I was going to have to fix a few things. While most have been minor, I have now run into a big problem.

There is a "hanger" bolt attached to the slideout rail that has snapped in two. (The other side nut was completely missing, I'm guessing this side snapped do to the extra weight.)

At any rate, I am an average welder and am thinking about just welding it back together. However, before I go that route, I wanted to see what other suggestions this community had to offer.

[I'm working on attaching a picture or video.]

Regards,

ezjamm
ezjamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 05:55 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

Video uploaded.

See this video for clarification on which bolt snapped in two.
Attached Files
Old 06-23-2018, 05:57 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Picture added.

It appears I'm not able to add video here. Can only link externally. Recommendations on external video hosting server?
Old 06-23-2018, 06:52 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezjamm View Post
It appears I'm not able to add video here. Can only link externally. Recommendations on external video hosting server?
I can see your video.
SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2018, 08:36 PM   #5
Winnebago Watcher

Just had my 99 apart and if it is the rear bolt that attaches to the cargo bin one on each side and attached to the slide channels. It screws in, so if it is broken drill it out use a “easyout” (screw extractor)and replace with new bolt. (Winnebago part )Don’t weld it! It is very close to the hydraulic ram which may be damage plus you need to be extremely good welder for it to hold. Do it right!
Edneas is offline   Reply With Quote