Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-13-2018, 03:16 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

View Fresh Water Overflow Leak? Siphon?

We have a “new to us” 2014 View 24V. Filling the fresh water tank via the direct connect is easy. After completing I turn the lever from “Tank Fill” to “Normal”.
The water pump is off and all faucets are off. I arrive each time (after a two hour highway trip) with 2/3 tank of fresh water. I do note that when filling the tank that it overflows out of a small tube directly behind the fill location. The tube has what looks like about three inches of plastic screening on the end. After arriving and setting up, it never leaks again but I never arrive at our boondock site (usually a Harvest Host Vineyard) with a full tank of water.
Admittedly, I’m new to this and must be missing something. Any suggestions are appreciated! Thanks!
Schoolhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 06:14 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise

Could be: RV is not level when filling; air bubble trapped in tank and it "burps" when driving due to motion of the RV; vent tube is not at highest point in tank......
Old Crows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 06:34 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Good thought....

Good thought but I know I was level each time. If it was a “one off” I wouldn’t be concerned but losing 1/3 of my available water is not a good thing. Hoping to boondock some in the desert this winter and would like to maximize my time there before heading back to town. Thanks for the feedback and I’ll be sure to keep that in mind going forward.
Old 08-14-2018, 06:40 AM   #4
Winnie-Wise

I hear your concern... Sorry... "Level" doesn't mean the tank is level. My bad. RV can look level but tank may not be. Fore, aft, port & starboard level on the tank.