Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-30-2018, 08:44 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

New owner question(s) '16 Winnebago Spirit 22R

Hi,

I'm totally new to RVs, and own a 2016 Winnebago Spirit 22R (just bought it last week). It has an Onan 4KY gas generator. Here are some general questions (I couldn't find answers in the large owner manual, maybe I missed it):
1. The fridge can use either electricity or propane. If I use electricity, I'm guessing the RV either has to be connected to outside power, or have the generator on. First of all: is my assumption correct? If so, do I need the generator on the whole time I'm driving, so to not let the food spoil?
2. Also in the lines of electricity: how is the "coach" battery charged? Is it only charged by the generator (when on) or outside power (when connected)? Or does it charge also from the actual car's engine when the engine's on?
3. The car (Ford E350 chassis) has a switch on the dash that says "BATTERY BOOST ON/OFF". What is that for?
4. I see two separate switches in the "coach" section regarding water heater: the one says "WATER HEATER ON/OFF" and the other "HOLDING TANK HEATER ON/OFF - Turn off when not in use". What is the difference?

Thank you so much everyone!
rockelino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 09:19 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockelino View Post
Hi,

I'm totally new to RVs, and own a 2016 Winnebago Spirit 22R (just bought it last week). It has an Onan 4KY gas generator. Here are some general questions (I couldn't find answers in the large owner manual, maybe I missed it):
1. The fridge can use either electricity or propane. If I use electricity, I'm guessing the RV either has to be connected to outside power, or have the generator on. First of all: is my assumption correct? If so, do I need the generator on the whole time I'm driving, so to not let the food spoil?