Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-15-2011, 06:07 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

2012 Access 2000 Mile Shakedown Run

Well, I'm new to the Winnebago line and we started our trip with a fairly ambitious 2K mile trip just a few days after our purchase. What we found:

1. The LP tank read 1/3 when we received the coach and will not accept propane. (Tried to fill in two different stations.)
2. The front powered fan vent top does not seal correctly. It is not completely sealed so the fan spins continuously and the there is some wind noise.
3. The rear TV coax is bad. Not a bad connector, just bad. Ohm'd out the center pin and it is open.

Not a bad deal for a shakedown cruise. I would consider that a pretty good run!

Some observations about the coach.
We traded a Class A Holiday Rambler 38PLT for this rig knowing that it was smaller. That was a plus for us.

1. What we found is that it is not only shorter, but also quite a bit more narrow which we did not plan for with our pets.
2. The class C tends to wander on the road. The A coach tracked rock solid. The C is very good on the road, but requires constant corrections.
3. The tank capacities are going to take some getting used to!
4. The windshield wipers WORK! Our A suffered greatly in the rain. Never cleared the windshield in a good rain.
5. The water heater being heated driving down the road is great! Also the RR heater in the rear of the coach works fantastic.
6. Noise was expected from the front engine, but was more than expected.
7. Driving at night is easier in the C. The A coach always had lights ghosting around the windshield and the mirrors tended to reflect too much of the rear cars headlights. (The A's mirrors are mounted more forward where the C's are more to the side.)
8. MPG was lower than sold by the dealer. 11...really? Try 7 to 8.