Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-17-2018, 01:04 PM   #1
2006 Itasca Meridian 39K

Trik-L-Start

I'm new to the DP world and am a little intimidated by the electrical systems, I'm experiencing low voltage on my chassis batteries. I found the Trik-L-Start maintainer but non of the three lights on the unit come on, even after running the headlights for five minutes from the battery. I metered the batteries and got 12.4v then started the engine and they popped up to 13.6v.

The motorhome always starts, I normally keep it plugged into a 30 amp outlet in my barn. Do I have a problem and if so how can I tell if the Trik-L-Start is functioning, shouldn't it charge the batteries higher than 12.v? Is there some electrical setting in the MH that I need to check to have the maintainer working?

The MH is a 2006 Meridian so the maintainer was installed by the factory.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Wingchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 04:39 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

You should get either charging or flashing maintaining. You might have a bad device.
Ultra TRIK-L-START Starting Battery Charger/Maintainer
Mike Owens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 08:16 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

If you have the electrical "Disconnects" turned off the Trik-L-Start will not function the way it was designed. The disconnect isolates the batteries when turned off.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 03:39 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

If it's wired in right at the battery posts, which is typical, the disconnect for the RV (often called the salesman switch) won't change it's function.