Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-10-2012, 09:37 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Newbie questions initial maintenance service on Itasca Meridian

At 6000miles, 7 months after taking delivery on a new class A diesel pusher, do I really need to do all 53 maint. procedures listed in my owners' manual? Freightliner says change oil & filter at 6000 miles, Cummins says at 7500. Huh? Do I really need to lubricate the ZF IFS, the knuckle pin, the tie-rod ends, the camshaft bracket bushing, the slack adjuster, the drag link, the steering driveline, and the steering gear? And do I need to change the axle lubricant, the hydraulic reservoir filter, the fuel filter, & the coolant filter? I'm not a mechanic and don't want to become one. Should I pay Freightliner to do all this or wait awhile? Please help me reach a common sense decision here.
rwbed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:46 PM   #2
Winnebago Watcher

Yes you should. there is alot of gunk left over from when it was put together. Alot of grit was worn off as the moving parts got broken in and now contaminated. lube it up and change the filters. The less its driven the more often you need to chang the oil. If you dont, they wont cover it when it fails. They wouldnt put it in there if it didnt need it.
greggholmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:59 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Let's see. New rig. Manual says to do all that. I am curious, why would you feel the need to ignore that? BTW There are warranty considerations for not following/documenting service intervals.

The initial quick oil changes (engine and axle) are intended to remove any lingering machining residues. Changing the hyd, fuel, and coolant filters is to remove trapped machining particles from those systems. Lubing the chassis is to ensure all components are properly lubed after a period of initial use.