Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-22-2011, 09:56 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

New Vista, Lifter noise on delivery date and major rust

I am new to IRV2 and hope that I can add some value in the future.

My wife and 2 kids are traveling thru Texas and decided to upgrade our Daybreak to a Winnebago Vista. After the coach finally arrived at the dealer, we looked over it in the detail bay and it appeared fine.

We came back the next day for delivery and this is the first time i heard it run. I immediately heard lifter noise and mentioned to the dealer. They are very attentive etc and apparently the engine has to go to Ford now for the lifter noise. It is half loaded with all of our belongings from us halfway migrating into it when I heard the engine start up.

Upon my listening to the engine closer I was appalled at all the rust all over the electrical wires (starter wire or something large) and a large amount of rust on several other chassis bolts.

This is a 2010 Vista I am buying new in March 2011.

I absolutely love the inside of the coach and all the features etc but I am expecting a brand new penny and this rust looks so bad that the bolts would surely just break if you tried to remove the nuts from them.

I am expecting to keep this for many years and my 3 year old Daybreak doesn't have an inkling of rust on the under carriage in comparison.

Are these things prone to rust? Should I be worried? Am I crazy to think they should just send me a different one that looks new instead of an undercarriage that looks 10 years old?

I am rather frustrated and not sure if I even have options other than just accepting that I own that coach now and they are being nice letting me use my old one while it's being worked on and our spring break is basically just been waiting around on this new coach.