Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-12-2018, 07:11 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Need some Advice 2001 Journey

I am in the process of negotiating the purchase a 2001 Journey. 36DL

I would appreciate any advise on what to look for that may be unique to this model. I have not yet traveled to see the unit and have learned that it has been idle for some unknown time, which gives me some concern. I believe the tires and batteries will need to be replaced.

I have been traveling in a TT for several years and am familiar with the things common to the TT and a DP. I am also familiar with diesel engines.

Thanks

Howard
hewebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 05:51 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

This could be a check list the size of a old phonebook, but.......

Having ourselves purchased a "new to us" Journey several years ago, I would offer that all fluids should be suspect. Engine/genset coolant, trans, engine/genset oil, differential, front wheel wet axles, hydraulic system, on and on. Unless you have a clear history of maintenance, just replace them and call it your baseline.

You are on track re: tires and batteries.

If you can and are able, get flat on your back and work your way underneath from stem to stern -- rodents, rodents, rodents. Open the engine access and inspect. Cycle every on board system. Remote genset start, slideouts, water heater, HVAC, inverter, etc. Does your OneStop Center give correct readings? 30amp? 50amp? Genset? Shed order lights lit? Condition of waste tanks? Potable water tank? Water in fuel tank?

Yes, you can hire a "professional" to do this, and it wouldn't hurt, but having firsthand knowledge before the "professional" weighs in is invaluable. After all, where will he/she be when you break down between Why and Mule Creek?