Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-07-2018, 07:49 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Looking at Journey/Meridian 36G, 2005 thru 2007

Hello...new poster here,
I'm nearing retirement and looking at my next RV to own for the next 10-12 years and the next 75K to 100K miles in the $50K to $75K price range in great condition. I've never owned a diesel but I've read a lot of posts here and I've narrowed my search to a 11 to 13 year old 36G with relatively low mileage. Will a very well maintained 2005 thru 2007 Journey/Meridian 36G CAT350C7 with 35K to 50K miles already on it fit that requirement, or should I be planning to buy another RV sooner than 12 years/100K miles?
BTW, I'm an engineer and experienced RVer, currently own an 02 Adventurer 35U Ford V10 which has served me well, albeit with the typical HWH issues, minor clearance light leaks, and other nagging little issues we all deal with...I think.

Thanks in Advance, Love this Forum,
Bob
RVVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 06:38 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Bob,

We have a 2004 Meridian 36G. I love the floor plan. The one thing we had issue with is overheating as the radiator faces to the rear and between it and the charge air cooler sandwiched with the radiator collects a bunch of road grim. It is a day job every 6 months to clean it with a Extreme Simple Green and Dawn. Our HWH was repaired at their facility in Moscow, Iowa and is flawless now. One control box shorted out and two pistons were bent on the jacks and the nylon slide guides were replaced on the big slide.

I wish the generator was mounted on a slide.

We are going to run this one until the wheels fall off. Lots of information out there on these machines. CATS are a good engine, just keep up on maintenance and you should have lots of trouble free miles. Mine is a 330 HP.
LPD218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 12:27 PM   #3