Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 10-17-2008, 05:07 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Hello all! This is my first time posting and I'm a relative newcomer to RV'ing, so please be patient. I'm still getting up to speed. Last year, we got an old 1976 Winnebago Brave D21 and overall, we like it. It wasn't that much, had a working generator and was generally in good condition, although several of the RV systems are in disrepair. But for what we use it for, it does a pretty good job and runs good (after sinking a bit of money into it).

Anyway, the RV came with most of it's original manuals but there is one question that I can't seem to find in any of the documentation and I know it is probably basic for someone who has had experience with the Brave from around it's era.

Basically, the fuel gauge can be a bit iffy. Sometimes it looks like it's working, sometimes not. From the manual, it says the total for both tanks is 50 gallons. But does anyone know what the size is for each tank individually? Is it an equal 25 gallons for the main and the aux?

And this one might be dumb, the rear tank, I assume is the Aux tank and the generator runs off of that. And the front tank (near the door and engine), is the main tank. Is this correct?

Finally, for when the fuel gauge does seem to be working, I don't see much movement (if any at all), when I change the switch from main to aux. Does the gauge show the total from both tanks or is it supposed to change from one tank to the other (e.g. one can show full, one can show empty). I would assume the later, but like I said, I'm a newb, so I wanted to make sure.

Thanks for any help in advance!
captcashew is offline   Reply With Quote