Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2013, 08:34 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 43
2013 Itasca Meridian with Kingdome...not happy

Our Itasca Meridian 42e came with a Kingdome satellite antenna preinstalled. When we put in our DirectTV HD receivers, we got the unpleasant surprise that the KingDome doesn't support DirectTV HD.

So, it looks like we will have to replace this antenna and go back to the Wineguard system we had in the previous coach. Just curious if anyone else had run into this, what you did, and how happy you were with the final results.

__________________
Cliff McGlamry
2013 Itasca Meridian 42E
cliffm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 08:50 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
edgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 450
I think you will find that the Kingdome ant only needs to be re-programmed for Direct since WBGO is apparently setting them up to default to Dish. When my sig coach was new, WBGO was programming them for Direct, and I had to have it reprogrammed by a Kingdome dealer to allow the use of my Dish receivers. Cost about 100 bucks a few years ago.
I suggest you check with WBGO before replacing the antenna.
__________________
2016 EC Aspire 42RBQ / 2014 CR-V
edgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 08:55 AM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
RickO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgray View Post
I think you will find that the Kingdome ant only needs to be re-programmed for Direct since WBGO is apparently setting them up to default to Dish. When my sig coach was new, WBGO was programming them for Direct, and I had to have it reprogrammed by a Kingdome dealer to allow the use of my Dish receivers. Cost about 100 bucks a few years ago.
I suggest you check with WBGO before replacing the antenna.
Ed, I think his problem is that no dome will support DirecTv HD. They can be reprogrammed to receive DirecTv SD but not HD.

This is a common issue. Another option would be to open an RV account with Dish Network. The dome does support Dish HD. The route you mentioned will probably run close to $2K installed.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 08:56 AM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
kjburns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 184
There are no domes that support DirecTV HD. DirecTV uses a different band for HD. You'll need something like the Winegard Trav'ler or an open face dish on a tripod.
kjburns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 08:57 AM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
D Lindy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 245
Our coach had in the instruction books a listing showing the different Dish/Direct TV programing possibilities. What was required was for us to determine what programing we wanted, then by using the Kingdome on-off switches click them the # of times and sequences according to the instruction book for the set-up we wanted.
__________________
2012 Journey 40U (Our Incredible Journey)
2008 Dodge Dakota(TOAD) 2005 Honda Shadow in TOAD
AF-1 braking system
D Lindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 10:26 AM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
edgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickO View Post
Ed, I think his problem is that no dome will support DirecTv HD. They can be reprogrammed to receive DirecTv SD but not HD.

This is a common issue. Another option would be to open an RV account with Dish Network. The dome does support Dish HD. The route you mentioned will probably run close to $2K installed.

Rick
RICK:
Obviously I did not understand that Direct HD wasn't "possible" on any dome. Seems like a good reason to not use Direct service, IMO.

All I know is that I bought a Dish compatible receiver for a little over $200.00 and then paid a Kingdome dealer around $100.00 to re-program the Kingdome WBGO had installed (set to Direct) and I'm "pretty sure" I can now receive Dish HD signals. What would cost "$2K installed" ?
__________________
2016 EC Aspire 42RBQ / 2014 CR-V
edgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 10:28 AM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 129
I was not happy with the king dome and switched to the travler ant. If you have swm recievers they will not work with the dome. The swap out is easy camping world quoted over 1k but it took me only a few hours
fla tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 10:57 AM   #8
Winnebago Master
 
Finhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa and Las Vegas, Nv for the Winter
Posts: 563
My 42E also came with the Kingdome In Motion thing. It's now sitting on the ground along side my RV. As far as I'm concerned, that's a great place for it. I replaced it with the WineGard Tvler and life is much better. The cost, I feel was no big deal compared to the benefits.
So for those that love the Kingdome, mine is available.
__________________
2012 Itasca Meridian 42E, Roadmaster Tow System, Unified Brakes on Toad
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. US Army Armor. Ret
Finhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 03:37 PM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
RickO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgray View Post
RICK:
Obviously I did not understand that Direct HD wasn't "possible" on any dome. Seems like a good reason to not use Direct service, IMO.

All I know is that I bought a Dish compatible receiver for a little over $200.00 and then paid a Kingdome dealer around $100.00 to re-program the Kingdome WBGO had installed (set to Direct) and I'm "pretty sure" I can now receive Dish HD signals. What would cost "$2K installed" ?
You'll get no argument from me on the wisdom of using DirecTv in a coach.

I'm no expert on this stuff, but as I understand it, DirecTv spreads their HD broadcasts over several satellites which the domes can't handle. Dish Network uses only a single bird for HD making the domes workable for their service.

The Winegard Travelr is a very popular open faced, automatic dish. They make models for Dish and another for DirecTv. The DirecTV model (SK3005) now lists for $2K... but the Dish model is considerably cheaper.

Here's a link to the DirecTv model.

TRAV

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 05:14 PM   #10
Winnebago Owner
 
kjburns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 184
DirecTV SD uses Ku band on 101. DirecTV HD uses Ka band. Dish uses Ku band for SD and HD. Domes are capable of receiving Ku band only. That's why domes can get HD with Dish and not DirecTV.

The Winegard Trav'ler is a more expensive automatic antenna. It has multiple LNBs to receive HD with either service. There are separate versions for DirecTV, Dish and Shaw. We have the Dish version on our RV.



The advantage of using a Trav'ler is that it's capable of feeding multiple receivers. A dome requires a secondary receiver to watch channels on the same satellite as the primary receiver with Dish Network. Domes have only one LNB so they can't "look" at different satellites at the same time. The Trav'ler receives all of the satellites at once, like the antenna you'd have at home. The Trav'ler can also feed multiple tuners allowing the receiver(s) to view and record at the same time.
kjburns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 11:05 PM   #11
Winnie-Wise
 
SuperGewl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 477
As others have stated, if you want In-motion then you will have to do the Dome, if you want HD then get a Traveler for the network you want. I personally switched from Direct TV to Dish because of the Pay as you go program for RV'rs. Direct TV will let you turn it off 2 times a year but you have to tell them exactly for how long as Dish will let you just not pay the bill for the upcoming month and its OFF until you do.
__________________
Retired Navy Submariner
2014 Itasca Sunstar 35F; 5 Star tuned; 2014 Jeep Cherokee TrailHawk
SuperGewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 06:01 AM   #12
Winnebago Camper
 
TVforMyRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ickesburg, PA
Posts: 19
I've never installed a new dome antenna for a customer.....

This article explains how you can use the SK-SWM3 with the DirecTV Genie systems in an RV.

The SWM3 is also discounted for the Christmas season....
__________________
Don & Anita Sweger
98 Overland Larado 4141SO
41' 325hp Cummins C8.3 Nicknamed "Lola"
Owners of: www.tvformyrv.com
TVforMyRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 07:08 AM   #13
Winnebago Owner
 
Chiefbvfd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Buffalo, IA
Posts: 68
My king dome works fine with my directv. The manual details how to program it. It may not be HD as some of the other post indicates, but I'm one of the older generation that can't tell much difference anyhow, even at home. We have a 42" LCD in the living area and the picture looks pretty good to me. I have had some terrible experiances with DISH in our area and I would rather just have a digital crank up rather than go back to them...JMHO....
__________________
Terry & Brenda - From the Iowa Banks of the Mighty Mississippi
2011 Winnie Journey 34y, Freightliner / Cummins , 2012 Chevy Colorado Toad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]




Chiefbvfd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 07:33 AM   #14
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 43
Thanks

I appreciate the many responses. I should have been more clear.

1. The Kingdome does work for SD. All the TV's in the new coach are HD capable.

2. As someone pointed out, Direct TV uses multiple satellites. I noticed when we attempted to use it with Direct TV that the Kingdome antenna must occassionally (depending on the channel selected) re orient itself to a different satellite.

3. Not only does the DirectTV system use multiple satellites, they are different frequencies. The LNB's required are different and the dish for Direct TV HD is physically larger.

We had Dish when we lived in Utah, but when we moved back to Georgia we got DirectTV due to differences in programming that were available. We installed the Genie in the house, but have a second HD DVR that I had INTENDED to move back and forth between the house and the coach. That doesn't work. Call to KingDome support indicated that only some very specific models of DirectTV receivers (SD receivers) were known to work with their system, and none of them were DVR's.

I am unfamiliar with the Dish RV program Can anyone provide details around what that is and how it works?
__________________
Cliff McGlamry
2013 Itasca Meridian 42E
cliffm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
itasca


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not happy with my Tour tristar1 Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 15 07-19-2015 07:24 PM
Kingdome Replacement Finhawk Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 29 06-22-2013 04:52 PM
2013 Itasca Meridian 34b bmorgner Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 9 05-11-2013 09:24 AM
2013 Itasca Meridian 42E Drivers Seat problem zehrteam Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 12 03-24-2013 06:06 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.