Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-12-2016, 06:04 PM   #1
Winnebago Master

'02 Winnie Journey Satellite...

Have been full timing for 12 years now and with my recent purchase of the rig in my sig, I'm wondering about having satellite.

There is an apparently nice one horn auto-deploy satellite dish on top of this new to me RV that has a Winegard Traveler controller. The controller comes on for a few seconds but then goes right off. It does not deploy the dish.

So my question is, can someone give me the low-down on this system? The possibility for conversion to something?

I admit I'm a novice when it comes to satellite, but not to electronics or equipment. I think I'm missing some parts...

Visit my RV Travel & Repair Blog at : https://chaos.goblinbox.com
Jim_HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 04:53 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

Jim_HiTek, you have to hold the power button in for a couple of second for the unit to start the power up sequence.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Travler power up.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	56.7 KB
ID:	118914  
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 10:51 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

THANKS!

I tried pressing and holding a couple times before and it didn't work. This time, of course, it worked fine. It was probably because of the awkward position I was in when trying it. This time I pulled the box out of the cabinet.

It's unfolded the antenna and spent like 5 minutes searching the sky, and now has settled on one direction. The dish has DirecTV logo and the Winegard shows 3 satellites I think, the display shows *101 *99 *103.

Figuring this out will be fun. I'll have to read the darn manual though I think.

Old 02-13-2016, 12:25 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner

You probably already know this but since the dish has a DirecTV logo you will need to purchase a DirecTV package from DIRECTV.