Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-07-2015, 12:08 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Winegard Trav'ler Roofmount Dish high wind concern

I finally got my Satellite dish up and receiving what it is supposed too! I keep the rig in beautiful Birch Bay WA. Unfortunatly I did not think about retracting/stowing the Dish and left it up! I am now at home looking at the severe wind warning advisory for the PNW expecting gusts of up to 65 mph near the water What kind of wind force is a factory installed Dish engineered to withstand? Do you guys leave your dishes up when your units are unattended? Should I be worried? This is the first time in 3 years of ownership that I have used the dish.
Thanks for any replies
Milo
Milom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 05:32 AM   #2
Winnebago Owner

I've been using a Winegard Travler dish for almost 6 years on the my previous MH. It has withstood the best blows that Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico and Arizona have to offer. No worries. Seen more than one RV going down the highway with the dish up. You would have to ask them how they fair after a days driving at 70 mph!
BVThunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 06:07 AM   #3
Winnebago Owner

A lot may depend on how the base plate is installed.
Is it installed on a Rubber, fiberglass, etc. roof?
Was the option larger base plate used?

Winegard has said.
"If the customer is willing to be in the coach, the winds are not high enough to require stowing the unit."

I have put mine down when a Hurricane is in the area. No other times.
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 09:11 AM   #4
Winnebago Owner

I drove over an hour with our Trav'ler up(mistakenly). Haven't had any problems since. Not that I want to test it again though.
HUGHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 09:45 AM   #5
Winnebago Owner