Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2008, 02:27 AM   #1
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,047
Installed mine over the past week. Simply pulled the switch box and signal enhancer, put the antennae coming into coach on the converter in connector and then the converter out wire of the converter to where the antennae was connected on the enhancer.. In other words simply put the converter in line with the antennae coming into the coach. Do have to watch the same program on the bedroom TV and use two remotes.
What a difference in picture quality altho the size is diminished. Can I use a different aspect ratio to improve this? Hope this will improve with all stations going digital. We receive a few more stations at home with a cmplete lineup and in Luray , Va. we didn't get all the major Networks. Overall very satisfied with the way it works. Safe Miles
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 02:27 AM   #2
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,047
Installed mine over the past week. Simply pulled the switch box and signal enhancer, put the antennae coming into coach on the converter in connector and then the converter out wire of the converter to where the antennae was connected on the enhancer.. In other words simply put the converter in line with the antennae coming into the coach. Do have to watch the same program on the bedroom TV and use two remotes.
What a difference in picture quality altho the size is diminished. Can I use a different aspect ratio to improve this? Hope this will improve with all stations going digital. We receive a few more stations at home with a cmplete lineup and in Luray , Va. we didn't get all the major Networks. Overall very satisfied with the way it works. Safe Miles
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 04:43 AM   #3
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Solon, Ohio USA
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to W8RLM
Ichn2go,

My understanding is that with the way that you have it connected, you will have to watch the same channel on both TVs. I bought two of the converters and will put them in the incoming signal cable for each TV so we can watch separate channels on each TV. The Winegard converters have a bypass so that I can still use my satellite, DVD player, etc.

I have an 06 Journey, 39K, and I'm not sure how I'll mount the bedroom converter, but I'll figure out something.

W8RLM - Bob
__________________
2006 Winnebago Journey, Model 39K, 2013 Dodge Dart
W8RLM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 04:57 AM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,047
You are absolutely correct Bob. I didn't get two,but if this causes a real problem I will deal with it then. I must have the bypass because the DVD works and I assume Cable/Sattelite will too. In thinking about it, we do not use the crank up antennae for any of these features(?) Take care
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 06:16 AM   #5
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palisade CO
Posts: 895
If I understand correctly what you did , Winegard says not to connect it way because the amplifier in the batwing antenna needs a dc voltage to work. The voltage is supplied through the coax to the antenna. It can't get through the converter box to the amp so you will have severely decreased signal strength.
__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Ex Snowbird - 1 year, Ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 08:48 AM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
Harry B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 358
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Winegard says not to connect it way because the amplifier in the batwing antenna needs a dc voltage to work </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I had forgotten about the 12 volts being supplied to the batwing antenna. I installed just a regular 2 way splitter (which also blocks the 12 volts DC just like a converter) via this method of connection and it does indeed reduce your signal severely. I lost half of my channels.

Instead I connected a 2 way splitter inline with a DC bypass on one leg (available at Home Depot). The leg with the DC bypass allows the 12 volts to go on, along with the signal go to the batwing antenna as intended. I then connected the other leg of the splitter to my satellite DVR receiver with a build in digital tuner. After connecting it this way all my channels came back. I also have a DVD recorder with a digital tuner build in, which now receives signal via the second leg of the splitter and switching box. Connecting it in this manner allows each digital device to function independent of the other.
__________________
Harry
2015 Tuscany 40 KQ
2013 Honda CR-V
Harry B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 10:00 AM   #7
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,047
I misspoke in the original post. Another person actually hooked it up and I verified with him that we used the out wire ( wire that hooks to the switchbox)on the TV booster to go to the in connector on the converter so therefore we did not interrupt the 12v at all. Safe Miles
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 10:07 AM   #8
Winnie-Wise
 
Trek-Cyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 304
If you placed the digital signal box between the antenna in and the selector box why can't you watch different channels on different TV's if you selected Antenna in rear TV and Cable on front... The Coax coming in is only a single feed from antenna to selector box originally..so that shouldn't change, it's just one in one out to the box...
Trek-Cyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 12:29 PM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,047
You can watch TV on the front from the crank up antennae and a different program on the back TV from Cable .. IF CABLE IS AVAILABLE.

You can do most anything it says on the switch box as long as you have the service/item available. No DVD no movies...Amen and Safe Miles
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 01:36 AM   #10
Winnie-Wise
 
Trek-Cyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 304
I haven't done ours yet but you should be able to watch antenna front TV and antenna rear TV using the selector box and one Analog to Digital Box, No? Cable and Satellite you shouldn't need a box the Analog to digital will be done for you. Am I missing something here? Do you select the TV channel using the converter box? Does someone make a multi-TV Converter Box? Do you need a Converter box for each Analog TV?
What's WITH THE CAPS? Don't be a blooter...it's rude. Just trying to get a better understanding of what your talking about..and the easiest way to do it without more freaking remotes!
Trek-Cyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 03:28 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 74
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I haven't done ours yet but you should be able to watch antenna front TV and antenna rear TV using the selector box and one Analog to Digital Box, No? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
NO! The digital tuner is in the converter box so whatever channel the box is set to is what you would watch on both TV's unless you have a separate box for each TV.
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 04:30 AM   #12
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,047
Not being a blooter and I never try to be rude.

Just trying to get a point across that this thread pertains to crank up antennae and converter box not cable or satelite.
IF you have cable and or satelite connections, then you don't need a converter box whether in a Moho or residence.
And yes you do need two converter boxes to watch different programs on front and back TV's.
Good Miles
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 05:48 AM   #13
Winnie-Wise
 
rvten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Crossville, TN USA
Posts: 397
I used the plans on this forum too hook up mine. Where the converter box is conn. to the vidio switch box via a splitter. One cabe runs to the AUX conn and the other to the ANT. in conn.

This give me the by pass I need for Anolog TV and digital TV viewing.

Give me the choice to view different programing front and rear. Plus use cable ot SAT. viewing on either TV.
__________________
Tom & Bonnie
2008 Winnebago Aspect 29H
A Class C Not a B+
2010 Ford Flex
rvten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 02:02 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 74
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Give me the choice to view different programing front and rear </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
So as not to confuse some readers, if you want to watch 2 different DIGITAL channels on 2 different analog TV's you MUST have 2 separate converters. It will be possible until Feb. 19, 2009 to watch the analog channels on one TV and digital on another but once the analog signal goes away you need 2 converters, new TV's or be satisfied watching the same channel on both TV's.
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 02:36 PM   #15
Winnie-Wise
 
Trek-Cyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 304
Thank You!
Trek-Cyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2008, 02:54 PM   #16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 74
You are welcome. There is a lot of confusing/misleading information being posted about the upcoming over-the-air (ONLY) digital changeover. I am glad to be able to help where I can.
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2008, 01:00 AM   #17
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,047
Bill, thanks for stating clearly what I muddled up. Safe Miles
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converter box 38J disup Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 6 01-21-2009 12:47 PM
Converter location lthrnk Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 12-15-2008 04:09 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×