Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 12-25-2013, 05:48 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Thermostat control help needed

I may be a frequent poster here since i am still learning! Ya'll please bear with me!

Our new Adventurer 37 F has RV Comfort Thermostat. So, I read all the books, yes, LOL all of them! I felt confident settling the thermostat. What I was not prepared for is I can only select LP heat for zone 1, the front of the coach. Zone 2 give me 2 choices for heat. Electric heat and OFF.

So I put zone 1 on LP and left zone 2 on electric heat, even tho I know the heat pump does not like temps in the 20's.

What happened last nite was, ZONE 1 - both the ceiling air vents and the floor vents were blowing air

ZONE 2 - only the ceiling vent was blowing. My understanding is the floor vents are LP, ceiling are Electric.

These settings blew through 1/4 tank propane! We have a 50 amp hook up ( at my parents house for Christmas and I installed a 50 amp)

So now I cut off zone 2 heat. Zone 1 is blowing heat through the bottom vents.

I am in an area that I can not find LP gas fill. Which speaking of, how do ya'll find places to fill?

At 1/4 tank a nite, i will be here for 2 days and be out of LP!

Am I missing something or are the directions in the book not right? It would seem I would be better on generator. Last year in the georgetown, we were gen only and ran for days in cold weather and still had gas to get home. But since i am learning, have not gotten to the part of, can I run the gen for heat and 50 amp for electric? I may be very old before i get all this!

On a side note tho, I did figure out and fix the water heater problem!
Old 12-25-2013, 06:23 AM   #2