Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2016, 08:07 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Shorepower issue

When I am plugged into a 50 amp service the smart board only shows 30 amp. Also the 2nd air compressor won't run. Everything else works fine. Could this be an issue w/ the automatic transfer switch.

How do I trouble shoot this?

I have a 2005 35A Adventurer
NEWE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 08:44 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 33
It is likely your transfer switch.

Does it work with the generator?

Disconnect the house batteries with your disconnect switch.
remove power and then take off the cover.

Inspect the big contactor (relay) for sticky or burned contacts.

If that looks ok, plug into shore power.

The white wire is commom.
check these 4 points.
Shore power in:
L1 IN
L2 IN

L1 OUT
L2 OUT

Each should show 120v

Regards,

Dan
__________________
2014 40QBH Phaeton DP Cummins 380HP ISL, Freightliner XC, 2014 Jeep Trailhawk TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar, SMI Air Force One -South Orange County Ca.
dpinvidic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 09:31 AM   #3
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks for the responce, It seems everything works with the genset im going to check the relay and then the voltage on both sides of the switch.
NEWE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 01:01 PM   #4
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
I checked the ATS i have 120 on both sides of the lines. Checked voltage at the panel also have red and black feeders having 120. Smart board still says 30 amp ??? How can i check that both compressors are working ?
NEWE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 02:46 PM   #5
Winnie-Wise
 
ChasA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 449
Are all circuit breakers on? If not turn them all on and see if that makes any difference.
__________________
2010 Winnebago Journey Express 34Y
2010 Freightliner XCS (mfd 9/'09)
'07 Saturn Vue V6
ChasA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 02:50 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
Clifftall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 307
I had the combo W/D removed on my Bounder and thought it would be prudent to turn off that breaker. The EMS didn't think so :( and showed only 30 amps when hooked up to 50. I flipped that breaker back on and it returned to 50 .
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasA View Post
Are all circuit breakers on? If not turn them all on and see if that makes any difference.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 02:55 PM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by NEWE View Post
I checked the ATS i have 120 on both sides of the lines. Checked voltage at the panel also have red and black feeders having 120. Smart board still says 30 amp ??? How can i check that both compressors are working ?

Do you have any breakers in the breaker box turned off? Many electrical management systems will have a sensor on one circuit on each leg. If those sensors don't see 240 vac as measured between them then it assumes 30 amp service. It also has a sensor so it knows when the power is from the generator which it knows to be 50 amp even though both legs are on the same phase.

If you happen to have the breaker off when the sensor is located, then it assumes 30 amp.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 07:47 PM   #8
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Cypress River Manitoba
Posts: 84
On mine if the water heater circuit breaker is 'off' (which it is when stored without water in the tank), the monitor will only show a 30 amp service when plugged into 50 amp.
__________________
2004 Itasca Sunrise W22 chassis GM 8.1 Allison 1000 Towing a 2007 Chevy Cobalt four wheels down.
Switchflicke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 08:05 PM   #9
Winnie-Wise
 
Kazoo Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 370
I had a similar problem last year with ours. The EMS would only show 30 amps when plugged into 50 amp. A local tech thought it might be a bad EMS panel. I pulled the one place panel off to check the wiring and found one of the connectors in the wiring harness had come loose. Secured the connection and no more problems.
__________________
Tom and Barb
'07 Winnebago Voyage 35L
Workhorse W22 chassis FMCA 219315
Kazoo Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 06:51 AM   #10
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 91
Why has know one asked if he checked the pedestal to make sure he has BOTH 120 volt legs there????
__________________
Stik
Full Timing since 2005
09 Journey 34Y, 2015 Grand Cherokee Toad
stik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 06:58 AM   #11
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Cypress River Manitoba
Posts: 84
Good point. And if that was the case, part of the coach would be without shore power.
__________________
2004 Itasca Sunrise W22 chassis GM 8.1 Allison 1000 Towing a 2007 Chevy Cobalt four wheels down.
Switchflicke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 07:03 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 196
It could be a number of reasons and that's why it is important to have good trouble-shooting skills.

Start with the power source to make sure there is TRUE 50 amp shore power at the source, 120 VAC on each leg or 240 VAC between Leg #1 and Leg #2. Then work your way through the power system one step at a time making sure you have 120 VAC power on EACH leg to your coach.

Eventually you will come to a device where you will discover the problem.

Once you have completed those steps, re-post what device you have determined to be the culprit. Then we can advise you as to what to do to correct the problem.

Until then everyone is shooting from the hip as to what YOUR problem may be.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 07:25 AM   #13
Winnebago Master
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by NEWE View Post
When I am plugged into a 50 amp service the smart board only shows 30 amp. Also the 2nd air compressor won't run. Everything else works fine. Could this be an issue w/ the automatic transfer switch.

How do I trouble shoot this?

I have a 2005 35A Adventurer
The 2nd compressor will normally run on just 30a. I recently replaced my ATS for very much the same problem. I found no burned contacts when I disassembled the ATS (could not see them with cover removed). Mine seemed to be hanging one leg between gen & shore power, often showing 30a on 50a shore power & both gen & 50a on gen. Sometimes banging the ATS would make it pop into the correct mode, and sometimes only time would do the trick. New ATS solved those issues.

Next week I am replacing the AC/heat pump due to locked up 2nd compressor. I have spent apx $3k repairing the unit over the past 4 yrs so decided to replace it rather than another repair. I was trouble-shooting the compressor problem when I discovered the issues with the ATS.
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 02:27 PM   #14
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
I'm sure I have 240 all the way to the panel. I will check the EMS next. Running the air some times it seems fine and keeps the coach cool and then it seems to struggle to keep up wondering if the unit needs a charge?
NEWE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
02 Adventurer Fiberglass Issue KenGe Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 17 03-11-2008 08:10 AM
Basement Heat issue RanchoVectra General Maintenance and Repair 11 12-03-2007 02:23 PM
IFS Suspension Issue Warpath Running Gear, Axles, Brakes, Wheels and Tires 7 07-17-2006 05:35 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.