Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-07-2010, 01:01 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Shoreline question

I am new to the RV lifestyle and need some advice. I've just purchased a 2004 Winnie Sighteeer and I'm enjoying tweeking it to make more to my liking. While it's in my driveway is there a quick way to hook the MH electrical supply to the house current so that I'm not draining the battery? I would think that a typical extension cord is too light. Any suggestions??
crumgj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 01:07 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

if you just want to keep the batteries up or maybe the fridge on so its cold and ready to go.....

make sure you have a good 15 amp outlet, and use the adapters down from 50 to 30 to 15 amp and use a good heavy gauge extension cord. BUT do not use it to run your a/c or other high amperage draw appliances.

the best bet is to have an electrician run you at dedicated 30 amp rv circuit and then use the 50 to 30 amp adapter dogbone. That way you can run the a/c and cool down the coach a few hours before your ready to go.

I did that with my fiver for years at our other house

hd and lowes both sell a 30 amp rv box as do most hardware stores.
Old 03-07-2010, 01:15 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

If you don't use any major appliances in the MH, then a heavy duty outdoor extention cord will be enough to keep battery charged and to work lights, etc. John H...
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
John H... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 01:24 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper

My TT is 30 amp and I use a 30 amp extension cord to hook her up to the stick house power. You can get them at Home Depot, Lowe's and if you have them, Harbor Freight. They usually have them for a better price than RV stores.
Sheila
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] ~ Salt Creek Recreation Area Olympic Peninsula, Washington ~
PNWGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 01:31 PM   #5