Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2007, 12:51 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner
 
peter griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 233
I have 3 new batteries (interstate) and an onan ec 30 automatic generator starter. When I run the propane heater with a full battery charge My ec30 will start the generator normally three times during the night? Is this normal?

For those who dont have an ec30 can you run the propane heater all night without starting the generator? Even on cold nights?
My last RV would not go all night and I woul wake up to a beeping noise or freeze.

thanks for any input
__________________
Peter Griffin
2011 JAYCO 24 Z TOY HAULER -
2011 F250 Crew gas
peter griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 12:51 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
peter griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 233
I have 3 new batteries (interstate) and an onan ec 30 automatic generator starter. When I run the propane heater with a full battery charge My ec30 will start the generator normally three times during the night? Is this normal?

For those who dont have an ec30 can you run the propane heater all night without starting the generator? Even on cold nights?
My last RV would not go all night and I woul wake up to a beeping noise or freeze.

thanks for any input
__________________
Peter Griffin
2011 JAYCO 24 Z TOY HAULER -
2011 F250 Crew gas
peter griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 01:31 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 1,562
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">can you run the propane heater all night without starting the generator? Even on cold nights? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Yes, I can run my LP furnaces all night (they don't actually run all night of course) without running the generator as long as we do NOT have the inverter turned on. We have done this several times at rallies where we had no power hookups and were under restricted generator use hours.

How long does your generator run each time it starts automatically? ...is it supposedly fully charging the batteries each time? Whether or not it is normal depends on what all you are running that is using battery power.
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
'03 Winnebago UA 40e / '05 Honda Odyssey toad
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 01:45 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
peter griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 233
maybe I should try it after a full charge and using no tv at all...my ec 30 is showing it is charging full after the first run but I know it is really not because the generator should take 5 or more hours to charge the batteries ... Plus the ec 30 would not have to come on 3 times...I would think....I am looking into changing the run and setting time on the ec 30.
__________________
Peter Griffin
2011 JAYCO 24 Z TOY HAULER -
2011 F250 Crew gas
peter griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 02:39 PM   #5
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 49
My guess is that you have something else pulling the battery down besides the furnace such as an inverter, l2 volt fridge, lights etc.

The EC30 is programmable but I would be careful in letting the batteries get too low before the generator starts.

The EC30 also will start the generator with a signal from the thermostat calling for electric heat--check to see if you have the thermostat switch on electric or gas--- if it is on electric and it is too cold for the heat pump or you are not plugged in to AC it will run the propane furnace and the EC30 will start the generator as it it got a signal from the thermostat to start the heat pump.
__________________
2004 Ultimate Advantage
2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
rnabors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 04:44 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
Harry B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 358
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">For those who dont have an ec30 can you run the propane heater all night without starting the generator? Even on cold nights?
My last RV would not go all night and I woul wake up to a beeping noise or freeze. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Peter, I have the ec30 like you and had simular problems with the Gen. coming on to soon. I lowered the voltage setting upon which the gen starts. The volages that are set by default are no-load settings. However with a load you can go lower without draining the batteries down to far. If I recall I have mine set on 11.2 volts. I have checked battery recovery afterwards and with no load the batteries recoevered to more that 50% capacity
__________________
Harry
2015 Tuscany 40 KQ
2013 Honda CR-V
Harry B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 05:47 PM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
peter griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 233
You mean the start at voltage should be 11.2 what is your stop at voltage? Did you install it or factory?

It also seems that they are not fully charged either.

I will try the 11.2 Also, can you do me a favor and tell me if your back light goes out on your ec 30. Mine doesnt and I think I have a bad one. Speaking with onan now about this. I dont hink the backlight is connected to my issue.

thanks for your help
__________________
Peter Griffin
2011 JAYCO 24 Z TOY HAULER -
2011 F250 Crew gas
peter griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:00 AM   #8
Winnie-Wise
 
vicsryd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 383
Send a message via Yahoo to vicsryd
Doesn't the EC30 have a "quiet hours" setting?
__________________
Vicki & Jon Pritchard
05 Journey 34H - CAT C7 - Toyota RAV4
3 doxies, 1 chihuahua - WIT, Escapees, FMCA

vicsryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:16 AM   #9
Winnie-Wise
 
Harry B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 358
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">You mean the start at voltage should be 11.2 what is your stop at voltage? Did you install it or factory?

It also seems that they are not fully charged either.

I will try the 11.2 Also, can you do me a favor and tell me if your back light goes out on your ec 30. Mine doesnt and I think I have a bad one. Speaking with onan now about this. I dont hink the backlight is connected to my issue.

thanks for your help </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Peter, You are right, I meant the start voltage. That is what happends when I answer emails late at night.

As far as the backlight on the LCD display goes, yes there is a timeout on it which turns it off. It comes back on when operating one of the buttons.

I installed it my self. I have not figured out yet how to hook the thermostat into it. There are no volatages present at the thermostat to trigger the EC30 when you remove the shore power. I need to call Coleman yet to figure that out.

The generator only operates about two hours, before the EC30 shuts it down again. That is only enough time to charge the batteries to about 80%. But it beats constantly watching the batteries when dry camping. I like the EC30 and only took me about 3 hours to install.
__________________
Harry
2015 Tuscany 40 KQ
2013 Honda CR-V
Harry B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:38 AM   #10
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 49
Harry,
You will need to get a new thermostat from RVP. On the new ones they have added a wire for an Auto Gen Start connection.
It is great---the EC30 will start the generator on low battery voltage, air conditioner demand from the thermostat, or heat pump demand from the thermostat.
__________________
2004 Ultimate Advantage
2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
rnabors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:55 AM   #11
Winnie-Wise
 
Harry B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 358
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">You will need to get a new thermostat from RVP. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Thanks for the tip. I will look into doing that. That will complete the EC30 hookup.
__________________
Harry
2015 Tuscany 40 KQ
2013 Honda CR-V
Harry B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 12:18 PM   #12
Winnebago Owner
 
peter griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 233
rnabors....what wire was that on the thermostat....was it marked or do you have a color?

thanks
__________________
Peter Griffin
2011 JAYCO 24 Z TOY HAULER -
2011 F250 Crew gas
peter griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 08:39 PM   #13
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Central FL
Posts: 166
Got through a full night with OAT around 40 and fully charged batteries. Failed the second night after about 4 hours because I did not fully chargwe the batts, (1 hour gen charge only). I found it intersting that the batteries appeared to automatically disconnect from ALL coach items at some threshhold of low voltage. Started Gen with chassis battery and used shore power the 3rd evening.

So where do I get one of those "ec30" autostart gizmos?

2006 Itasca Suncruiser 38T
Honda CR-V via Blue-Ox
__________________
2012 Phaeton 40 QBH, 2011 Ford Explorer & 2013 Jeep Wrangler Toads via BlueOx, TPMS by TTS, Delta Force toad brake system.
Paul T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 09:13 PM   #14
Winnie-Wise
 
Harry B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 358
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">So where do I get one of those "ec30" autostart gizmos? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Paul,

You can order it directly from the Cummins Corporation. Don't bother with the local Cummins dealer, they are usually not familar with the units. The price when I bought it was $200 plus the cable, which in my case was the short 18" cable which was I believe $20.
__________________
Harry
2015 Tuscany 40 KQ
2013 Honda CR-V
Harry B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto switch - Heat Pump to Propane Furnace not happening dboliek General Maintenance and Repair 12 01-02-2013 06:22 PM
Dometic Refrigerator not Running on Propane corvettec3 Heating, Cooling and Appliances 12 03-18-2012 08:16 AM
Diesel engine starter batteries Lake Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 10 11-17-2008 01:49 PM
Suggested replacement for 35A starter (not coach) battery. ARNE-T Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 9 06-02-2007 10:56 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.