Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2017, 05:36 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Dave1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Running 2 ACs on 30 Amps

Friends,

Someone told me, or I read in the manual that I can run 2 roof ac units on 30 amp hookups if I limit the use of any other ac appliances. Any advise would be appreciated as I will be spending 3 nights this May in Dallas at a 30 amp COE park. I have a 2015 Itasca Sunova 33.

Many Thanks,

Dave
__________________
Dave and Anita
Two empty-nesters
2015 Itasca Sunova 33C
Dave1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:39 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
vsheetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 227
Typically yes, if no other loads and the 30a service is robust. One load often overlooked is the battery charger - set it to minimum draw.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:49 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Typically yes, if no other loads and the 30a service is robust. One load often overlooked is the battery charger - set it to minimum draw.
I totally agree! It even helps if you have LED bulbs and tv. Less power used is more efficient towards the power needed. If you have a ice maker turn it off, same goes for electric water heater switch to gas. Same for the fridge, switch to gas as well. We can run two ac's in our coach with no problem. Start the ac's early to help with temps.
__________________
American Tradition 42R-Cadillac SRX Blue Ox Koni 5050XL MCD Scangauge D Samsung rf197
Fulltime since 2012
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:51 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
palehorse89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave1956 View Post
Friends,

Someone told me, or I read in the manual that I can run 2 roof ac units on 30 amp hookups if I limit the use of any other ac appliances. Any advise would be appreciated as I will be spending 3 nights this May in Dallas at a 30 amp COE park. I have a 2015 Itasca Sunova 33.

Many Thanks,

Dave
The only true way to answer your question is to turn them on, and use a amp probe to see how may amps each is drawing, or if your Coach is equipped with a energy management center that shows amp loads on L1/L2....... My Duo therm 13.5 each draw around 16/17 amps each while running.........I can't run both on a 30 amp outlet.
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:57 PM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 117
Can you do it? Yes, but don't start both at the same time. Also, you will not have much headroom. You can't run a coffee maker, toaster oven, microwave or much else while running the ACs.
__________________
2016 Winnebago Journey 40R - 2012 Jeep Rubicon
2 Arctic Cats, 3 Shelties, 4 cats
Bottle of Jack Daniels & wife
BVThunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 06:05 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
Skip426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 339
What size A/C units ??
Neighbor in my SoCA. park was running both his 15,000 BTU. A/Cs ( older coach ) on the 30 amp service; and I warned him , middle of the third day the connection at the post melted.
He ..... up and down that the post circuit breaker would kick out first ; but it didn't.
You'll have to examine the park power plug VERY carefully , any sign that there has been previous overheating of the plug and you run the risk of melting down the plug and your adapter .
Get out to the post with both A/Cs running , if the plug on your adapter cord feels hot ; shut one down!
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 06:20 PM   #7
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Watertown NY USA
Posts: 5
I would be extremely cautious of running 2 AC units on a 30 A. system. I know one campground we frequent has 30 A. receptacles BUT the campground was built in the mid 70's. Since it was built the campground has been expanded and the power lines have been tapped into and extended several times since they were originally built. The receptacles are fine, the breakers are fine but the wire size is inadequate and probably the wires have deteriorated somewhat to feed a large line of modern campers all running AC's at the same time. It's like trying to pour a five gallon pail of water through a 1/4' funnel. Voltage is pressure while amperage is flow. The flow just isn't there.
I have been to a couple campgrounds I wouldn't even run my fridge on AC just because I feared a low voltage / amp supply. I have a generator and propane. It's much cheaper to run either or even both rather than ruining a perfectly good appliance. My converter works just fine for heat and lights. My TV is LED but we seldom use it.
Lynn
__________________
2002 Fleetwood Storm 30H on Workhorse P32 chassis 8.1 gas.
LETMGROW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 06:40 PM   #8
Winnebago Camper
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
What size A/C units ??
Neighbor in my SoCA. park was running both his 15,000 BTU. A/Cs ( older coach ) on the 30 amp service; and I warned him , middle of the third day the connection at the post melted.
Thats about what I've found!

A lot is going to depend on the distance you are from the pedestal, and, how good the 30A source is.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 07:13 PM   #9
Winnebago Owner
 
Yellowboat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 224
Hi.

I have a 2016 Sightseer 33C. It is the same as a Sunova.

I run two air conditioners / heat pumps on 30 amps. The only problem is also running the microwave / convection oven at the same time. If you want to run the microwave turn off one air conditioner.

I have a Progressive Industries Surge Protector that protects my electrical system.

Safe travels. JD
__________________
JD & Kathy and our pom "Mac"
2016 Winnebago Sightseer33C built on a 2016 F-53 Chassis
2009 Saturn Vue
Yellowboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 07:18 PM   #10
Winnebago Master
 
grtharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Skiatook, OK
Posts: 1,408
Dave1956, here is a link to the Power Control System that is in your coach. When the systems senses that you are on a 30 amp service it will turn power off as needed to the electric water heater, Refrigerator and also disable the #2 AC unite to keep the current draw from not exceeding 30amps.
http://www.precisioncircuitsinc.com/...nersManual.pdf
__________________
Grant & Pat
2014 Adventurer 35P
2012 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 08:10 PM   #11
Winnebago Camper
 
Dave1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks all! Grant thanks for the attachment, I have studied that and with the other comments I feel better about this new adventure,
__________________
Dave and Anita
Two empty-nesters
2015 Itasca Sunova 33C
Dave1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 08:38 AM   #12
Winnie-Wise
 
aauummm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Altoona, Iowa
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave1956 View Post
Friends,

Someone told me, or I read in the manual that I can run 2 roof ac units on 30 amp hookups if I limit the use of any other ac appliances. Any advise would be appreciated as I will be spending 3 nights this May in Dallas at a 30 amp COE park. I have a 2015 Itasca Sunova 33.

Many Thanks,

Dave
Dave, I have a 2010 Sunova 33c. It has the two Coleman 13.5K high-efficiency AC's. According to the EMS and their specs, they each only use 9-10 amps. That's with the fans set on regular speed. With both AC's running it leaves at least 10 amps for other appliances. I would check your build sheet to see if you have the same AC's as ours.

As grtharris has mentioned above, if the current draw gets up to 30 amps, the EMS will shut down the rear AC and whatever else (hot water heater, etc) until the draw is below 30 amps. We have a 30 amp service in the MH so this is operation as usual for us.

Edit: I checked your specs for the 2015 model and you do have the same AC units as ours.
aauummm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 09:50 PM   #13
Winnebago Master
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 695
There is a difference between rated capacity and continuous-duty. A CG circuit may be rated for 30A, but continuous-duty is 80% of design capacity. This means, in reality 24A should be your limit. Reference the melted plug reply.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 10:34 PM   #14
Winnebago Watcher
 
SailorSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
It might be worth your time to look at the Easy Start from Micro Air. It's an electronic gizmo that primarily manages power draw when the AC starts. Plenty of posts of folks reliably starting/running 15K AC units on a single 2K generator. So if you put one one each AC unit, it might help you out. An engineer for them named Mateo is active on several RV forums, I know he posts a lot on the Airstream one and is very good about answering questions.

FWIW, I don't have one, but if I decide to boondock more, I have it on my list as something to seriously consider.
__________________
Al
SE Michigan, F-150 Plat SCrew, Flagstaff 26 FKWS, ProPride
SailorSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 Winnebago Tour ACs touring2 Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 19 08-12-2014 09:56 PM
RV is 50 amps, RV Park Spot is 30 amps jmraz73 Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures 30 01-06-2014 05:12 PM
Convert watts to DC amps formula SteveG Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 15 03-01-2008 07:26 PM
Basement A/C & 15 Amps? Pubtym Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 29 07-17-2007 07:34 AM
Control Panel @ 50 AMPs John and Elaine Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 12 10-15-2005 04:58 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.