Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2008, 03:57 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
My Powerline Energy Management System reads 30 amp service even when I'm plugged into a 50 amp receptacle. Any thoughts on what the problem could be?
T Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 03:57 PM   #2
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
My Powerline Energy Management System reads 30 amp service even when I'm plugged into a 50 amp receptacle. Any thoughts on what the problem could be?
T Busch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 04:08 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 813
T Busch, welcome to the forum.com. You will find many helpful people here to answer your questions.

Regarding your power management system, my experience is when you are connected to 50A power the EMS panel will not show any current draw. It does show current draw when on 30A or on generator power, however.

The way you described it does not sound correct. Hopefully others will offer better suggestions.

Good luck.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 04:34 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Motley MN
Posts: 146
Deleted my answer. Question changed.
__________________
2014 Itasca Cambria
Dave from MN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 05:01 PM   #5
Winnebago Master
 
DancinCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the Road Westward
Posts: 693
On mine, if I have the Hot Water Heater breaker off, the panel will light up the 30 AMP indicater. Turning the breaker on will light up the 50 AMP indicater. (If I then turn off the breaker, the 50 AMP indicater will stay lit up).
__________________
Dan & Sharon & Kasey (Our Yorkie Puppy (12 Yrs Old) On the Road (2012 Journey 36M, 2006 Jeep Liberty)
USN-Ret ('65-'93) Fulltimers, Class of 2012
DancinCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 05:45 PM   #6
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: wherever we are parked
Posts: 53
Happened to us. We needed to replace the emc circuit board. We went to an RV dealer for this. You may be able to contact your dealer. Part had to come from Winnie, however, you might be able to get it from Lictchen in Forest City, Iowa.
Motorhome05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 04:40 AM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 155
Same thing happened in our '05 Journey. Connected to 50 amp service and only 30 amp shows inside regardless of what is running. It was an easy fix...EMS circuit board was located right at the foot of the bed and we simply unscrewed the wires, marked where they go and reconnected the new board. Took about 40 minutes total.

Alot of folk on here and RVnet have had the same problem and "Intellitec" (I think that was the manufacturer) was very easy to work with and admitted they have had a problem in the past with these.
__________________
Jim, MJ & Spirit Bear
2005 Prevost Royale, XLII
Jeep Wrangler Sahara...toad
jtharley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 05:26 AM   #8
KIX
Winnebago Master
 
KIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 587
You may want to make certainu that both hot legs of the 50 amp connection are getting into the moho before you replace the board.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 06:41 AM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
John_Canfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Back at the ranch
Posts: 2,041
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by KIX:
You may want to make certainu that both hot legs of the 50 amp connection are getting into the moho before you replace the board. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>Exactly - we were in one park when the coach was fairly new and even though we were plugged into 50 amp, the panel indicated 30 amp service - I thought, oh boy a problem to deal with. The problem was in the power pedestal and not our coach.

If memory serves me right, 30 amp power is simply 110V across each hot leg going into the transfer switch.

So it looks like this:

Coach hot leg--&lt; &lt;--|
Coach neutral--&lt;......|--&lt;110V shore power
Coach hot leg--&lt; &lt;--|

50 amp service looks like this:

Coach hot leg--&lt; &lt;--110V shore power--
Coach neutral--&lt;.......................220V across hot legs
Coach hot leg--&lt; &lt;--110V shore power--

The difference on 50 amp power is there is 220V across the two hot legs but the coach has nothing wired to use 220V although 220V is present.

This is from memory, so somebody please correct me if I got the details wrong.
__________________
--John

2005 Horizon 40AD, 2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
John_Canfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 06:50 AM   #10
Winnie-Wise
 
Cruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 306
That's correct. The Intellitec board senses the two hot legs to determine if you are on 50 amp shore power. If it sees 240 VAC across the X and Y hot legs, then the board goes into 50 amp mode. The ammeter runs off a current transformer looped around the neutral wire. With 50 amps dual phase input not all of the current is carried by the neutral so the rteadings are invalid. In 50 amp mode the Intellitec control module turns off any load shedding processes and also blanks out the ammeter and lights up the "50 Amp" LED. When it does not see 240 VAC across the two poles, it asumes 30 amp mode. In this case the 30 Amp LED illuminates, load shedding is enabled, and the ammeter displays the true current draw. If you press the 20 Amp button, the load shedding bases it's math on a 20 amp limit rather than 30 amp. Whenever you run your generator set, the B+ lead from the genset (the one that feeds the hourmeter) supplies 12 volts to the Intellitec module. In this mode the ammeter works, the "Generator" LED illuminates, but load shedding is disabled.

If your 50 amp LED fails to illunminate you may have a bed board but it could just be that the Intellitec module isn't seeing 240 volts. In that case, you may still be getting both phases to your panel but the leads inside the panel that deliver it to the Intellitec module may be loose or broken.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 09:59 AM   #11
Winnebago Master
 
smlranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 2,170
Interesting:

Like Pusherman, I see no amp light when I'm plugged into my 50 amp pedestal and no current draw. I do get all the other indicators....compressor 1 & 2, etc. I do get the 30 amp indicator and current draw whenever I plug into other known sources of 30 (or 20) amps or when on genset.
__________________
'07 Country Coach Allure 470 Siskiyou Summit #31578, Cummins ISL 425; 2014 Ford F150 toad; Air Force One Toad Brake.
Glen Allen, VA; Smith Mountain Lake, VA.
smlranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 10:36 AM   #12
Winnebago Owner
 
j griff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Belleville, IL
Posts: 59
My readings are the same as smlranger and Pusherman.
__________________
2005 Winnebago Adventurer 33RV | 2004 WH W20 Chassis | 2010 Honda CR-V Toad
USAF Ret June 1990 | 42 years continuous Active Duty
49 States | 10 Provinces | 50 years RVing
j griff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 10:55 AM   #13
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 155
Check out this thread....it may help.

Jim

http://irv2.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/2486094452/m/...431098304#3431098304
__________________
Jim, MJ & Spirit Bear
2005 Prevost Royale, XLII
Jeep Wrangler Sahara...toad
jtharley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 11:38 AM   #14
Winnebago Master
 
DancinCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the Road Westward
Posts: 693
The EMS measures L1 & L2 not at the MAIN breaker box, but after the breakers that control the two 120V loads which are shed. In my case, the Hot Water Heater & Refrigerator. To accurately determine if the L1 & L2 voltages are making it to the EMS control board you need to test at Relays 1 & 2.
__________________
Dan & Sharon & Kasey (Our Yorkie Puppy (12 Yrs Old) On the Road (2012 Journey 36M, 2006 Jeep Liberty)
USN-Ret ('65-'93) Fulltimers, Class of 2012
DancinCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 06:53 AM   #15
Winnebago Owner
 
Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Peoria AZ USA
Posts: 53
Happened to me when I had a Journey. Be sure your washer/dryer CB is ON.
__________________
Flyer
2014 Allegro Red 36 QSA
Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 10:40 AM   #16
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,047
Gary, what you and Pusherman experience is normal. I never got a amp reading on 50amps on the diesel nor do I get one on this motor home.
Only on 30 or below and the genny.

Whatever John and Mark said is correct, even tho I don't know what they said, as they are the experts.

Happy New Year to all.
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 06:40 PM   #17
Winnebago Owner
 
Carnles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 80
T Busch, I had exactly the same problem and the EMS control board was the culprit. Once a new board was installed it worked perfectly.

Once you do get the 50 amp indication, you will not see any amperage numbers. The 50 amp service is plenty for the entire coach so amperage monitoring is not needed.
__________________
Carroll and Leslie White

Retired Navy (ETCS/SW/AW)
Carnles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 01:01 PM   #18
Winnebago Camper
 
hollycowitsbig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DancinCampers View Post
On mine, if I have the Hot Water Heater breaker off, the panel will light up the 30 AMP indicater. Turning the breaker on will light up the 50 AMP indicater. (If I then turn off the breaker, the 50 AMP indicater will stay lit up).
You are the genius, my new best friend. I lost my heater element last year and on the Adventurer it is a bugger to change. So, I turned the breaker off so there would be no way it could accidently be turned on and fried. With the breaker off, I had a 50 amp light and everything was fine. After exercising my generator it went to the thirty amp position. I turned the hot water heater back on and reset the main and it went back to the 50 amp position. I am so lucky to have this forum with everyone's input, Thank you.
hollycowitsbig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you have not replaced your Hot Water Heater check valves, read this. LK23 Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures 28 05-07-2010 01:51 PM
Powerline Energy Mgmt System Prob Matt1616 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 8 04-12-2006 05:35 PM
powerline system on 98 Chieftain head_west Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 6 08-26-2005 06:34 AM
SCS/Frigette keyless entry system weirdness - if you have this, please read! John_Canfield General Maintenance and Repair 7 06-04-2005 04:19 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×