Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2016, 04:58 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner
 
dnystrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 178
Thumbs down Plugged in to 50 amp and only showing 30.

We are at a camp ground in Santa Rosa NM and hooked in to a 50 amp plug with a surge guard and the Powerline EMS is only showing 30 amp service.
I think it's the pedestal. The surge guard shows no faults but it shows 15 anps on 1 leg and 11 amps on the other leg. Any Ideas??
__________________
07 Meridian 34H 350 Cat
2010 Subaru Forester Tow
Home Port is Kingman,Az
KA7UYZ NRA Endowment Member Retired Fire Service
dnystrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 05:10 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
Clifftall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 307
Check your main breaker panel to see if one is switched off . That might make the EMS show that your on 30 amps.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 05:19 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner
 
docj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnystrom View Post
We are at a camp ground in Santa Rosa NM and hooked in to a 50 amp plug with a surge guard and the Powerline EMS is only showing 30 amp service.
I think it's the pedestal. The surge guard shows no faults but it shows 15 anps on 1 leg and 11 amps on the other leg. Any Ideas??
If you were on 30A service you wouldn't even have two legs showing. Are you sure that this isn't displaying the power being used rather than the power available?
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 05:50 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnystrom View Post
We are at a camp ground in Santa Rosa NM and hooked in to a 50 amp plug with a surge guard and the Powerline EMS is only showing 30 amp service.

I think it's the pedestal. The surge guard shows no faults but it shows 15 anps on 1 leg and 11 amps on the other leg. Any Ideas??

The 50 amp power may be wired incorrectly. Most EMS systems look for 240 VAC between the two hot legs. If it sees 240 then it assumes 50 amp. If the 50 amp AMP is wired so both legs are from the same phase, the EMS will not see 240 between the legs and assumes 30 AMP power.

It's also possible, if you have one of the breakers turned off, that might also cause the same thing. Many times, the EMS will have of its sensors attached at a breaker. If you have that particular breaker off, then the EMS will not be able to see 240 any will assume 30 amp.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 05:53 PM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
dnystrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 178
All the breakers are good.
docj,
I really dont know if it the amperage I'm using or that I'm hooked up to. I'm assuming it's the draw on the pedestal as the powerline shows about the same in the coach. I started the micro,fridge,air conditioner and the powerline started to shut things down like the air,fridge. So it did get overloaded and kind of makes me believe I'm only getting 30 out of that pedestal. We go to a different camp tomorrow so we'll see. We had 50 amps at the panel this morning before we left. Everything is working just can't run it all at the same time. To be continued.....
__________________
07 Meridian 34H 350 Cat
2010 Subaru Forester Tow
Home Port is Kingman,Az
KA7UYZ NRA Endowment Member Retired Fire Service
dnystrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 05:59 PM   #6
Winnebago Owner
 
dnystrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
The 50 amp power may be wired incorrectly. Most EMS systems look for 240 VAC between the two hot legs. If it sees 240 then it assumes 50 amp. If the 50 amp AMP is wired so both legs are from the same phase, the EMS will not see 240 between the legs and assumes 30 AMP power.

It's also possible, if you have one of the breakers turned off, that might also cause the same thing. Many times, the EMS will have of its sensors attached at a breaker. If you have that particular breaker off, then the EMS will not be able to see 240 any will assume 30 amp.
Well Steve, That's what I'm thinking and thought that all along as we have never run into this before. We are in Santa Rosa NM if you know what I mean.
Not recommended by us but we had no other options. A new camp tomorrow.
__________________
07 Meridian 34H 350 Cat
2010 Subaru Forester Tow
Home Port is Kingman,Az
KA7UYZ NRA Endowment Member Retired Fire Service
dnystrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 06:03 PM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 91
If you have a Volt Meter measure the volts at the pedestal. It very well may be a phony 50 Amp. you should measure 210-250 volts a cross the 2 side slots. If it is ~ 120 it is wired wrong.
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 06:20 PM   #8
Winnebago Owner
 
Bigd9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 83
We have run into several campgrounds that advertised 50 amps but the display inside the coach only shows 30 amps. Someone said it was a cheap 50 amp service because they used the same wire for both legs and put in a 50 amp breaker thinking they are really providing 50 amps.
__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, being pushed by a 2009 Honda CRV
Bigd9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 06:36 PM   #9
Winnebago Camper
 
powderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: N. E. Ohio & Lady Lake Fl.
Posts: 13
Docj nailed it.
powderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 07:27 PM   #10
Winnebago Owner
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 91
OT There is a good Mexican restaurant there, used to be a Drive In. Met the owner a few years ago, many good story of the route 66 Days. We stayed at the State campground.
__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 07:32 PM   #11
Winnebago Owner
 
dnystrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigd9 View Post
We have run into several campgrounds that advertised 50 amps but the display inside the coach only shows 30 amps. Someone said it was a cheap 50 amp service because they used the same wire for both legs and put in a 50 amp breaker thinking they are really providing 50 amps.
Well the bitch is that they charged an extra 10 bucks for the 50 amp service!
__________________
07 Meridian 34H 350 Cat
2010 Subaru Forester Tow
Home Port is Kingman,Az
KA7UYZ NRA Endowment Member Retired Fire Service
dnystrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 07:41 PM   #12
Winnebago Owner
 
dnystrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgvtexan View Post
OT There is a good Mexican restaurant there, used to be a Drive In. Met the owner a few years ago, many good story of the route 66 Days. We stayed at the State campground.
If it's on the way up the hill to this park we're in it's closed. We were here last July on our way home and it was closed then if that's the one. On the right going north on 66 from 40.
__________________
07 Meridian 34H 350 Cat
2010 Subaru Forester Tow
Home Port is Kingman,Az
KA7UYZ NRA Endowment Member Retired Fire Service
dnystrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 08:01 PM   #13
Winnebago Camper
 
Jim T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnystrom View Post
We are at a camp ground in Santa Rosa NM and hooked in to a 50 amp plug with a surge guard and the Powerline EMS is only showing 30 amp service.

I think it's the pedestal. The surge guard shows no faults but it shows 15 anps on 1 leg and 11 amps on the other leg. Any Ideas??

Build or buy yourself one if these. I built mine & use it to test campground pedestal before we even pull into the site. It will give you information you need to determine if there's a problem with the pedestal. It will also indicate a "fake" 50 amp (no "red" light=fake)
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1466125037.249280.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	175.5 KB
ID:	130419




Jim & Shirley & Abbie (Scottish Terrier)
2013 Newmar Canyon Star 3911
2005 Dodge Grand Caravan - Braun Accessibility Modified Toad
Remco Lube Pump
5 Star Tune
Progressive Industries EMS-HW50C
Coach Net Emergency Road Service
__________________
Jim & Shirley & Abbie (Scottish Terrier)
2013 Newmar Canyon Star 3911, 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan - Braun Accessibility Modified Toad, Remco Lube Pump, 5 Star Tune, Progressive Industries EMS-HW50C, Coach Net Emergency Road Service, FMCA 378968
Jim T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2016, 08:10 PM   #14
Winnebago Owner
 
dnystrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgvtexan View Post
If you have a Volt Meter measure the volts at the pedestal. It very well may be a phony 50 Amp. you should measure 210-250 volts a cross the 2 side slots. If it is ~ 120 it is wired wrong.
Im only getting 116 on the 2 side slots each side. going from each side to the nutreal on the bottom. The ground is on top
__________________
07 Meridian 34H 350 Cat
2010 Subaru Forester Tow
Home Port is Kingman,Az
KA7UYZ NRA Endowment Member Retired Fire Service
dnystrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second Air Conditioning compressor only comes on when plugged into 110 volts, not whe bobpie General Maintenance and Repair 27 10-08-2014 07:13 PM
House amp gauge only displays #'s on 30 amp. Tomtall Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 16 06-24-2014 10:11 PM
Rear AC - no amp use showing? J&SW Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 6 05-06-2011 11:12 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.