Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-24-2012, 07:34 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

New and an Electrical Question ???

Hello all, yes I'm new to RVing. I'm a 24 yr retired Navy Chief and have been a GM for Hardee's since I retired in 2006. I just bought a 1994 Vectra 33 ft (Chevy) motor home to relax with the wife and this is my issue. At the dealer they hooked it up to shore power and the house (?) AC worked. Now that I have it home the AC will not work with generator running alone, nor with the generator and engine running. I have to hook up the jumper cables from my civic to get the generator running. If I put the Aux Battery switch on, all the inside and outside lights work, but, the micro, fridge or TV will not. I ran an extension cord to the micro and if came on. I've learned to be a DIYer because contrary to popular belief you are not enlisted to beocome rich. I just have no ideal where to start. Sorry this is so long, but I am a Sailor and I will talk your ears off. More Questions to come this is just pressing, too hot to clean or update without the AC.
Navy Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:48 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

When you plug it in at home did it work? your only going to have 15 or 20 amps depends on what amp size of plug in you have unless you have a 30 amp installed at home to plug in to. next you will have a auto transfer switch or you will have to plug the 30 amp power cord in to the plug in the storage compartment for the cord. your house batterys are dead that why the gennie won't start. when you push the aux start you tie the cranking and the house together that why the lights come on but with out 120v the rest of the items won't work. I hope this helps
Old 07-24-2012, 08:02 PM   #3
Winnie-Wise

Looking at your online manual there are several possibilities.