Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-18-2018, 02:23 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Lithium Ion batteries

I am new to the RV world. I have heard talk about Ion Batteries and even heard dude on a video from Winnebago say they are experimenting with them on the Class A units before they put them in class C's. Has anyone made this swap in a class c? I will be purchasing a 2019View. If not Ion, what is the consensus on group31 vs whatever comes standard, I have seen both 24 and 27 group batteries listed in features lists.
DariusB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 04:05 PM   #2
Site Team

Hi and welcome!
There are lots of posts, blogs and YouTube videos about using Lithium Ion Batteries in RVs - Class B's, Class C's and Class A's, as well.

RVs are available with Lead Acid Batteries, AGM Batteries and Lithium Ion Phosphate batteries. too. Generally in most class C's there is a dedicated space for house batteries that doesn't always lend itself to changing battery group size. So, to get specific answers you need to investigate the specific models/brand of RV you're talking about.

There are a lot of View owners here and I'm sure many of them will speak up about their particular coach.

PS. I have a friend visiting at my house today with a brand new 2019 Pleasure Way Class B Van and his coach came standard with 200 watts of Lithium Ion Batteries. I know Winnebago is also offering this option with some of their Class B Vans and this time as well.
Old 12-18-2018, 04:30 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

The 12 volt Li coach batteries require a different converter/charger and a different Battery Isolation Manager than the legacy Flooded Lead Acid or AGMs do. So a proper change out is more involved than just replacing batteries.