Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2016, 03:56 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Journey Battery issues

I have a 2005 Winnebago Journey and the house batteries are brand new now, We are hooked up to shore power supply the solar power light is lit but the batteries only charge by running the engine. Can someone help me to troubleshoot my bus? I am fairly new to our RV haven't had to troubleshoot charging problems before. thank you (and thank you Cliff)
BibleBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 06:29 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise

Welcome to the forum .

First thing to check is that all the 110v Circuit breakers are ok. Your converter/charger should be on a dedicated C/B.
The solar and charging from shore power should be separate systems so you may have two problems.
Were all the charging systems working before the batteries were replaced?
When the batteries were installed , were any sparks produced?
Were all the wires hooked up in exactly the same places as they were removed ?
Next you'll have to find the converter charger to look for a circuit breaker or fuses on the unit it's self. Could have a white push button to re-set the C/B or a pair of fuses , depending on the model.
Should be an inline fuse between the solar panel and the batteries, finding that may take some searching.
Old 05-22-2016, 09:32 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

BibleBill, do you have an inverter?
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 05:09 PM   #4
Winnebago Watcher

charging problems