Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-08-2019, 10:40 AM   #1
jgh
Winnebago Camper

house battery

I want to add second house battery. not sure how to go about it. don't see solenoid in battery box.
what do i need to add battery?
picture of what i have is attached.
2006 sightseer 34a
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0253.jpg
Views:	276
Size:	336.1 KB
ID:	172302  
Old 10-08-2019, 10:47 AM   #2
Site Team

I'm no expert but I'm going to guess you're going to just need to wire the new battery into the house side either parallel or serial. Will probably need to make/buy some jumper wires.
Old 10-08-2019, 11:11 AM   #3
jgh
Winnebago Camper

solinoid

thanks
I was concerned that there is no solenoid like I have seen in other setups.
possible not in battery box.
Old 10-08-2019, 06:14 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomB View Post
I'm no expert but I'm going to guess you're going to just need to wire the new battery into the house side either parallel or serial. Will probably need to make/buy some jumper wires.
Never connect two 12V batteries in series!! That will result in 24V not 12V. You can probably pick up suitable jumpers at any auto parts store.

Two 12V batteries should be connected in parallel, see the link below for details:

https://www.rvbasics.com/techtips/RV...-parallel.html

It's also best if your two house batteries are a matched pair in terms of specs and age. Therefore, if your existing house battery isn't pretty new you should buy two new ones.

If you're going to need buy two new batteries, you should think about installing two 6V "golf cart" batteries for more amp hours and more robust construction. In that case, you'd connect the 6V batteries in series to provide 12V (details in the above link).