Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2019, 01:29 PM   #1
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 552
Grrrrr! 2006 Journey doesn't show Amps when on 50amp shore power.

Grrrr! The power monitor panel Power Line Amps display only show the amps being used when on generator or 30amp and lower. It doesn't display the amps when plugged into 50amp shore power.

This is basically a gripe, not something I think can be fixed.

I really like to know the number of amps I am using at all times. I especially want to know if both compressors in the basement air conditioner are running in hot weather.

As most of you know, the basement air conditioner only runs one compressor if the temperature you set the thermostat for is only 1-3 degrees less than the air temperature sensed by the thermostat.

Also once the A/C get the air temp down to the temp you have set in the thermorstat it turns off the compressors until the air temp rises and then only turns on one compressor to start the cooling.

When the outside temps are at 90 and above and the RV is in full sun, this one compressor is not enough to cool down the rig. While I am sure that at some time when the inside air temp gets high enough both compressors will turn on. By the time that happens, it is pretty darn warm inside.

This is not a complaint about the basement A/C. I really like it. It is almost like being in a house with central A/C, instead of the noisy roof A/C.
__________________
Al & Sharon
2006 Winnebago Journey 36G
al1florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 10:33 PM   #2
Winnebago Master
 
grtharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Skiatook, OK
Posts: 1,415
al1florida, the Amp reading is disabled when connected to 50 amps. The amp meter only reads the current flowing through the neutral wire, which is OK when you are connected to a 30 amp service but when connected to a 50 amp service only the unbalanced current flows through the neutral wire.
__________________
Grant & Pat
2014 Adventurer 35P
2012 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 08:26 AM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by grtharris View Post
al1florida, the Amp reading is disabled when connected to 50 amps. The amp meter only reads the current flowing through the neutral wire, which is OK when you are connected to a 30 amp service but when connected to a 50 amp service only the unbalanced current flows through the neutral wire.
OK. That makes sense.
Many thanks for explaining the reason why there is no reading on 50 amp service.
__________________
Al & Sharon
2006 Winnebago Journey 36G
al1florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 11:53 AM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
FIRE UP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 1,586
Maybe it's just me but,
We've owned and operated our present coach, an '04 Itasca Horizon 36GD with the CAT C-7 330HP now for over 8 years and have total of 89,000 miles on it. And, for the life of me, when using the A/C, it has ALWAYS used both compressors. And, it doesn't matter what temp we set it to. If we set it to 1, 2, 3 or 10 degrees above the present displayed temp, it will start up with one compressor then, without fail, approximately 10-20 seconds or so, the second compressor will kick in, every time. It has never, ever ran with just one compressor.
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 03:23 AM   #5
Winnie-Wise
 
Journey39n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: on a constant, around the country, trip!
Posts: 270
We have found that in hot temps (above 85) our solution has been to let the fans run all the time. This keeps the ducts cooler, and the transitions from one to two compressors seems less dramatic as the air in the coach is more uniform all the time.
__________________
2010 Journey 39n - 2017 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk - in our 9th year living aboard, now in Texas for the winter season
Journey39n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 08:50 AM   #6
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Journey39n View Post
We have found that in hot temps (above 85) our solution has been to let the fans run all the time. This keeps the ducts cooler, and the transitions from one to two compressors seems less dramatic as the air in the coach is more uniform all the time.
Absolutely, good advice.
Any time we have the a/c on we run the fan continuously. We may put the fan on low speed, but is always running. Otherwise the air gets really still in the RV.
__________________
Al & Sharon
2006 Winnebago Journey 36G
al1florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 09:52 AM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
CharlesMoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 85
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Journey39n View Post
We have found that in hot temps (above 85) our solution has been to let the fans run all the time. This keeps the ducts cooler, and the transitions from one to two compressors seems less dramatic as the air in the coach is more uniform all the time.

We started doing this late last year and you can dress for the inside temperature better. Before I was freezing when the air came on and with the still air I felt too hot. BTW - We had a guy in Shipshewana look at the basement air and we found out the second stage came on but there was no Freon in it so we had only 13.5K BTU's trying to cool the coach. After Leon fixed it life is good. Before when the temp was 82+ we would start losing ground on keeping the inside temperature from rising.
CharlesMoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 12:41 PM   #8
Winnebago Owner
 
puttin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 180
Al,


To answer part of your concern, you can buy a surge protector from Autoformer called the Watchdog. It can be monitored remotely from your phone- so you can see amp draw any time. Another choice is to hard wire a monitor from your electrical bay to the inside.
puttin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 06:27 PM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by puttin View Post
Al,


To answer part of your concern, you can buy a surge protector from Autoformer called the Watchdog. It can be monitored remotely from your phone- so you can see amp draw any time. Another choice is to hard wire a monitor from your electrical bay to the inside.
Yes, one of my projects for this winter when we are back at the S&B's is to install a hard wired Progressive Industries monitor w/remote.
__________________
Al & Sharon
2006 Winnebago Journey 36G
al1florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
journey, power, shore power


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Journey/Meridian pilots, show me your cockpit Cloudrnnr Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 10 07-28-2014 10:56 PM
RV is 50 amps, RV Park Spot is 30 amps jmraz73 Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures 30 01-06-2014 06:12 PM
Grrrrr... annoying slide rattle! Jupiter General Maintenance and Repair 8 10-15-2012 10:13 PM
no power unless hooked to shore power ken551 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 06-21-2012 06:55 PM
No power in house when off shore power. Batteries good. wbezemek Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 13 01-04-2012 08:16 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×