Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-21-2017, 03:01 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Fluorescent fixture issue

I have 2 fixtures in the living area that are trimmed out in wood. Typically the plexiglass lens would be small enough to maneuver to get it out to get to the lamps. Does anyone know if I have to remove the wood trim to get to these? The coach is 05 Winnebago Vectra WKS40AD.
Old 01-21-2017, 05:58 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Gently squeeze on the translucent lens from one side and tilt it down and out. There groves on each side that the lens fit into. Do the same in reverse to put it back in.

The screws that hold the simulated wood plastic trim are under the lens.

Hope this helps.
Old 01-22-2017, 08:16 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Thanks Earl. I have not been able to accomplish as of yet. I've been an electrician for forty years now and have worked on how many hundreds of indoor fluorescents and the way you described is same as pretty much all of those. Just did not want to break anything.
Old 01-25-2017, 05:03 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by wstalker View Post
I have 2 fixtures in the living area that are trimmed out in wood. Typically the plexiglass lens would be small enough to maneuver to get it out to get to the lamps. Does anyone know if I have to remove the wood trim to get to these? The coach is 05 Winnebago Vectra WKS40AD.
I had a '05 40FD. Pop the wooden screw caps off and remove the screws. Not as bad as it seems.

Happy trails,
Rick Y
Old 01-25-2017, 09:03 PM   #5
Winnie-Wise

If it is like my 08 Vectra, then pop the 6 wood buttons out and unscrew the 6 screws while supporting the wooden framework. I believe the tubes are 36" pin to pin.
Jerry J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 05:46 AM   #6
Winnebago Camper