Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-18-2018, 11:54 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

DIY Solar Install

Hi guys!!! I have a "new to me" 2003 Winnebago Sightseer. I want to add solar because we rarely camp in a park...usually on the beach at our local lake.
I know I can handle the electrical, I am a retired Industrial Electrician. What I am CLUELESS about is the construction of the roof...does it have a grid or joists or ??????????? I don't want to pay my local shop the approx $500 they estimated to install one panel, the wiring and the controller IF it is a DIY worthy project~~~ I do NOT want to poke holes in the roof and end up with a leak~~~
I also have read other people commenting on an Inverter~ Did all 03 Sightseers come with an inverter??? Where would it be? Havent seen anything that looks like an inverter in my poking around~ Also curious about ABT (Automatic Bus Transfer) Again...did all models come with this and is there a place to look???
Thanks, I am kinda new to RVs. We had an old 89 National Dolphin before and it already had everything~ Nothing broke, so I never had to fix it~~~
The shop said 4.5 Hrs...
Mykidsdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 03:01 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Here was my journey in doing it myself. I would take a break from work and go work on the rig. Not sure of the total time it took.

http://www.winnieowners.com/forums/f...ll-351641.html
Mike Owens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 03:58 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

From what I've read, the best thing for mounting solar panels to your roof without screws is 3m VHB mounting tape:

https://www.google.com/search?q=3m+v...hrome&ie=UTF-8

That's what I'm going to use.
BobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 06:37 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise

I used self stick on panels. No holes in the roof.
RV Solar Panel Kits For Mobile and Off Grid
Old 07-19-2018, 07:50 PM   #5