Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2012, 04:26 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
direct tv swim box

I have had dish for several years on my 03 suncruiser. I just switched to direct tv and was unable to get reception with their hd receiver box. With dish i had a sd receiver box. Direct tv tells me I need a swim box to make my non hd satelite antenae work with a hd receiver. They are sending it free. Does this sound correct? thanks John
pattcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper
 
desertrv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 15
I have one in the house. The neat thing about it is, it only requires one cable instead of 2 cables without the swim.
You will need a HD receiver box.
__________________
2003 36' Journey DL 330 Cat, Harley Rider
Jim and Brenda Kirkland
Command Sergeant Major, US Army, Retired
desertrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:55 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner
 
kjburns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 184
I don't have DirecTV now, but their HD has been on Ka band. A non-HD antenna generally has an LNB for Ku band. Unless something has changed, adding an HD receiver won't get you HD programming with an SD antenna.

The DirecTV salesman at Sam's Club thought my Winegard Trav'ler 1000 would get DirecTV too. Sometimes they're not well trained for our RV needs
kjburns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 11:07 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjburns View Post
I don't have DirecTV now, but their HD has been on Ka band. A non-HD antenna generally has an LNB for Ku band. Unless something has changed, adding an HD receiver won't get you HD programming with an SD antenna.

The DirecTV salesman at Sam's Club thought my Winegard Trav'ler 1000 would get DirecTV too. Sometimes they're not well trained for our RV needs
I realize I won,t get hd from a non hd antenna. I just want to get standard def. I was told that this swim box would enable my sd antenna to get service with a hd receiver box. I guess I should have just got a sd box but I,m taking it from the house and I have hd there.
pattcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:25 AM   #5
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palisade CO
Posts: 895
First I think you mean SWM rather than swim. It stands for single wire multi-switch.

Some HD Direct TV receivers will only work with a SWM dish (H25 for one I think). What they are sending you must allow the non SWM SD dish to work with the receiver.

I have an H24 receiver that will work with either a HD or a SD dish. That allows me to use my rooftop non SWM SK3005 automatic dish or my external 18 inch SD dish when trees block the SK3005.
I have to go into the receiver menu and change the dish type to match the one I am using.
__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Ex Snowbird - 1 year, Ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:28 PM   #6
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clay L View Post
First I think you mean SWM rather than swim. It stands for single wire multi-switch.

Some HD Direct TV receivers will only work with a SWM dish (H25 for one I think). What they are sending you must allow the non SWM SD dish to work with the receiver.

I have an H24 receiver that will work with either a HD or a SD dish. That allows me to use my rooftop non SWM SK3005 automatic dish or my external 18 inch SD dish when trees block the SK3005.
I have to go into the receiver menu and change the dish type to match the one I am using.
I spent the afternoon with yet another direct rep. This one says I don,t need the swm box. Just set the switch to multi switch and the antenna to 18" round and were good to go. Tried for an hour or two with the rep but no signal? always worked well with Dish. We switched because we didn,t like the dual satelite thing and going back and forth. Now nothing. We get to the point where the transponders come on but we don,t get any no matter where we aim the antenna. Were not newbies at this thats whats so frustrating.
pattcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 12:05 AM   #7
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by pattcook View Post
I have had dish for several years on my 03 suncruiser. I just switched to direct tv and was unable to get reception with their hd receiver box. With dish i had a sd receiver box. Direct tv tells me I need a swim box to make my non hd satelite antenae work with a hd receiver. They are sending it free. Does this sound correct? thanks John
I am going to guess that when they say "SWM box" they mean an SWM receiver. It is pretty simple to tell if you have an SWM receiver. One of the coax inputs from the sat dish will be marked "SWM". You have not said if you got a new sat dish from Directv. If you did get one from them it is very likely that your new dish is an SWM type dish. If you did not get a new sat dish from Directv then you will never get a signal from your old Dish sat.
The SWM sat dishes from Directv require more power than the old dishes did so they have a power inserter and special coax splitters that must be used or you will not get a signal. I am guessing you have not insatlled a power inserter since no mention of that.
There is a lot of old and new equipment out there and there are some great websites with diagrams on how to set up the SWM equipment. Here is one DirecTV SWM 8 Wiring Diagrams. They are very knowledgeable.
__________________
Tony G.
98 Monaco Dynasty
gonzo136 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 03:55 AM   #8
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 16
It's not a SWM dish, the dish itself is called a Slimline, the new LNB (SL5S) is called
a SWM because it has the SWM built into it and requires the power inserter.
It means you now only run one cable into house/coach and with SWM splitters
you can run several receivers from that one cable.
The older LNBs got their power from the receiver, but it doesn't produce enough
power to run the newer LNBs as they now require 21v.


Not sure if they mean "SWM box" is the SWM itself or the receiver, didn't
know there was such a thing as a SWM receiver. Always thought the SWM
was merely to split the signal to more receivers.

.
Sequim Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:37 AM   #9
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 129
may be stupid question but(if you have a dome) did you reprogram your antena for Directv? also tell them you want a h24 reciver it will work with out the swm system
fla tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:39 AM   #10
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by fla tom View Post
may be stupid question but(if you have a dome) did you reprogram your antena for Directv? also tell them you want a h24 reciver it will work with out the swm system
I have the older Winegard dish that says its compatible with Dish or Direct. Used w/Dish for years. Not sure if I have h24 receivers or not, just know they are HD. Last rep was certain my receivers should work my system but something is off. I have to have a RF modulator between tv and receiver. Older dish receiver had the screw in connections for both sat and tv but this Direct receiver only has the screw in connection for sat. TV has the three yellow, white, and red push in connections so the rf modulator accepts the screw in from tv and out to Direct receiver with the 3 push in connections. My wife just told me we do have h24 receivers.
pattcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:42 AM   #11
Winnebago Camper
 
winne2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
I agree with fla tom. On my Winegard dish I had to change dip switches for DirecTV when I switched from Dish Network. My dish antenna is not HD capable.
__________________
Steve & Mandy
2015 Entegra Aspire 44B
Previous coach 2008 Winnebago Tour 40TD
winne2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:43 AM   #12
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by winne2008 View Post
I agree with fla tom. On my Winegard dish I had to change dip switches for DirecTV when I switched from Dish Network. My dish antenna is not HD capable.
What are dip switches and where are they?
pattcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:40 AM   #13
Winnebago Camper
 
winne2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
I have the Winegard RoadTrip SDi (in motion) dish antenna. The dip switches are under the dome. Check the Owners Manual for your dish antenna to see if there are dip switches or programming to set for DirecTv.
__________________
Steve & Mandy
2015 Entegra Aspire 44B
Previous coach 2008 Winnebago Tour 40TD
winne2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 08:41 AM   #14
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by winne2008 View Post
I have the Winegard RoadTrip SDi (in motion) dish antenna. The dip switches are under the dome. Check the Owners Manual for your dish antenna to see if there are dip switches or programming to set for DirecTv.
There are no dip switches with an older Winegard dish like ours. We finally had a Direct repairman come to the house and in a few minutes he had a picture. An Hd box will work with the older sd antennas. No SWM box needed. Just a little patience with the dialing in of the signal. We are getting a dedicated sd box for the motorhome as it will be easier than taking the hd from the house. No RF modulator needed. Thanks to all.- John
pattcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Direct TV -DNS channels in HD? littlebaler1 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 9 01-04-2009 05:03 AM
Direct TV Question mrsr71 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 13 12-29-2008 02:23 AM
Direct TV problems Trek-Cyclist General Maintenance and Repair 27 05-27-2007 03:27 PM
Recommendations on satellite service: Dish vs. Direct TV BradandJanee Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 10 01-17-2007 09:22 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.