Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 02:12 PM   #1
Winnebago Master
 
LK23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 527
I will soon be in a campground with 30 amp service. What are the downsides? As I understand the air conditioner will run on one compressor instead of two. Am I correct? Is this the only downside?
__________________
2017 Dutch Star 4369
Huey Pilot Vietnam 1971-72
Author of ACE, The Story of Lt. Col. Ace Cozzalio
2016 Independent Publishers Book Awards Winner
LK23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 02:12 PM   #2
Winnebago Master
 
LK23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 527
I will soon be in a campground with 30 amp service. What are the downsides? As I understand the air conditioner will run on one compressor instead of two. Am I correct? Is this the only downside?
__________________
2017 Dutch Star 4369
Huey Pilot Vietnam 1971-72
Author of ACE, The Story of Lt. Col. Ace Cozzalio
2016 Independent Publishers Book Awards Winner
LK23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 02:45 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
Both compressors will run fine on 30amp. Proof is many Winnebago's only come with 30 amp and they have basement AC.
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 02:56 PM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
DancinCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the Road Westward
Posts: 693
Yes & No.

If you have the Energy Management System (EMS) it will automatically shut down different circuits to keep you under 30 AMPs. At least, that is how ours works. We have successfully operated both AC's on 30 amps.

I am not sure of the sequence, but ours will turn off the #2 AC compressor, the hot water heater, the refrigerator & the Hi Speed AC fan to keep load below 30 Amps.

I have watched this happen when we hit the microwave button.

When done with the microwave, the EMS will put the other loads back on line.

Of course, if the EMS has shed all 4 loads & you continue to add other loads then the breaker will trip.

I would also recommend keeping an eye on the voltage.

When we are on 30 Amp service, & I really would like both AC's on line then I switch refrig & hot water heater to gas.
__________________
Dan & Sharon & Kasey (Our Yorkie Puppy (12 Yrs Old) On the Road (2012 Journey 36M, 2006 Jeep Liberty)
USN-Ret ('65-'93) Fulltimers, Class of 2012
DancinCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 04:03 PM   #5
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 906
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Tom N:
Both compressors will run fine on 30amp. Proof is many Winnebago's only come with 30 amp and they have basement AC. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Tom,

While the newer basement air units can run on 30 amps the older ones (prior to 2000?) have a manual 50/30 amp switch in the cabinet over the microwave. I believe the 30 amp units began when they started calling them "True Air" but I am not 100% sure on that.

Thats why they have that book that is never supposed to be removed from the coach and is always handed on when ownership changes. ;&gt;

Best regards,

Neil
__________________
Neil V
2001 Winnebago Adventurer WFG35U
NeilV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 05:04 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
bobpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south NJ
Posts: 423
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by NeilV:

am not 100% sure on that.

Thats why they have that book that is never supposed to be removed from the coach and is always handed on when ownership changes. ;&gt;

Best regards,

Neil </div></BLOCKQUOTE> Yea, right, ever buy a use car? Not every coach has a "Book"

<sub>Edited HTML Code for quote</sub>
__________________
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 01:24 AM   #7
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: North East Indiana
Posts: 762
Both compressors on the Tru Air will operate fine on 30 amps as long as you have the EMS. This is true of the heat pump side also. I am presently into my 3rd month using mine daily and no problems so far.
Izzyblueye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 02:04 AM   #8
Winnebago Master
 
John_Canfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Back at the ranch
Posts: 2,041
Rex - I doubt that you will notice any difference; the EMS will do the work of shedding loads as needed.
__________________
--John

2005 Horizon 40AD, 2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
John_Canfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 04:05 AM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
LK23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 527
Thanks for all the answers. The EMS will handle it for me.
__________________
2017 Dutch Star 4369
Huey Pilot Vietnam 1971-72
Author of ACE, The Story of Lt. Col. Ace Cozzalio
2016 Independent Publishers Book Awards Winner
LK23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 04:26 AM   #10
Administrator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,319
Hasn't really been asked,but I would strongly advise the use of a surge guard. Just in the past couple of days I've read posts elsewhere on these forums where the surge guard "caught" problems with a campground's power pedestal.

You can opt to have one hard-wired to the coach,or perhaps one like THIS ONE that we bought at RVUPGRADES....
rebelsbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp or 50 Amp or Broken? Rockhouse Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 14 06-23-2008 12:00 PM
50 amp to 30 amp ryansmousehouse Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 12 06-07-2008 10:44 PM
Upgrade 30 amp to 50 amp service Kazoo Tom Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 20 09-20-2007 05:41 PM
50 Amp - No, *** 30 Amp-Yes - Problem FenceMan Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 14 07-26-2007 01:58 PM
Upgrading power plug from 30 amp to 50 amp Gary_Phoenix, AZ General Maintenance and Repair 12 06-02-2007 04:29 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.