Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2008, 08:57 AM   #1
Winnie-Wise
 
RCtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 367
I have not yet installed my 50 amp. hardwired surge guard.
I'm thinking about installing M/F plug in ends to make it removable and to bypass it if needed.
Is this worthwhile?
Any installation suggestions are appreciated.
Thanks
__________________
2002 Winnebago Journey DL 34 ' Cat. 330 hp
Great wife and Charlie, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel RIP
TTN
RCtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 08:57 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
RCtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 367
I have not yet installed my 50 amp. hardwired surge guard.
I'm thinking about installing M/F plug in ends to make it removable and to bypass it if needed.
Is this worthwhile?
Any installation suggestions are appreciated.
Thanks
__________________
2002 Winnebago Journey DL 34 ' Cat. 330 hp
Great wife and Charlie, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel RIP
TTN
RCtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 09:12 AM   #3
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Richardson, Tx
Posts: 76
I did just the opposite with mine, wiring it so that all current including the generator goes thru the surge protector. I don't see any reason not to have it in the circuit.
__________________
Robert L Rice

2002 36GD Journey DL
Robert Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 09:28 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 729
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by RCtime:
I'm thinking about installing M/F plug in ends to make it removable and to bypass it if needed.
</div></BLOCKQUOTE>

This is exactly what I did with my portable Progressive Industries 50 amp EMS....installed M/F 50 amp plugs, so I can have it running in-line INSIDE n my electrical bay and unplug it to bypass it if I don't want to.
FrontRangeRVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 09:28 AM   #5
Winnie-Wise
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 429
I installed mine as you described. I have had to unplug it twice when 20 amp service was all that was available.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 09:30 AM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 429
I have some pictures.


__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 10:17 AM   #7
Winnebago Master
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 1,581
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">had to unplug it twice when 20 amp service was all that was available </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
My SurgeGuard is hardwired, and I have run my coach on 15/20a service many times. Why would you need to remove the SurgeGuard to use 20a power??

There is no need to unplug my SurgeGuard to "bypass" it. It has a keyed bypass switch built in that you can use by turning the key. The only time it would have been handy to unplug the SurgeGuard was after we had a lightning strike that fried the SurgeGuard and I had to create a "jumper" wire when I removed the bad unit until I could get a new one.
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
'03 Winnebago UA 40e / '05 Honda Odyssey toad
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 10:23 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 729
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by AFChap:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">had to unplug it twice when 20 amp service was all that was available </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
My SurgeGuard is hardwired, and I have run my coach on 15/20a service many times. Why would you need to remove the SurgeGuard to use 20a power??

</div></BLOCKQUOTE>

There is no need to "bypass" or unplug my Progressive Industries 50 amp portable EMS when I am hooked up to 20 amp service. It provides protection at 20, 30 or 50 amp service.

I love the digital readout the Progressive Ind. units have!
FrontRangeRVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 10:30 AM   #9
Winnie-Wise
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 429
I plugged in to 20 amp service and waited and waited for it to set up. It never did so I bypassed it. I don't have a bypass switch on mine.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 04:08 PM   #10
Winnebago Master
 
John_Canfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Back at the ranch
Posts: 2,041
We're hardwired. Never has been a problem in 30,000 miles of camping.
__________________
--John

2005 Horizon 40AD, 2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
John_Canfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 04:47 PM   #11
Winnie-Wise
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 354
Ron~ I hardwired my Franks Autoformer in the power system so I can keep the box locked in the cabinet rather than at the post in a campground. I do by-pass the unit while I am plugged in safely in my RV spot at home.
Gary CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 05:06 PM   #12
Winnie-Wise
 
SteveG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 256
Photo below shows our hardwired installation. I have not yet traced the circuits but I am thinking that a by-pass switch would not help me much. I think the legs serve different purposes. I'll have to check that out to be sure.

__________________
SteveG

'10 Phaeton 36 QSH-
SteveG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 11:10 PM   #13
Winnie-Wise
 
RCtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 367
Thanks for the replies. I decided to hardwire it in as per its instructions as most of you have done.
__________________
2002 Winnebago Journey DL 34 ' Cat. 330 hp
Great wife and Charlie, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel RIP
TTN
RCtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surge Guard 50 amp Installation SteveG Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 12 06-24-2007 09:02 AM
Surge guard garybtt Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 16 03-13-2007 01:46 AM
Surge Guard and Auto Former BigTrace Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 16 06-09-2006 06:16 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.