Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-11-2019, 07:01 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

30A or 50A for new construction?

I am building a house on a 5 acre plot of vacant land. SCE, my local electric company, is asking me what I need as far as power goes. Since my aging RV runs on 30A I was considering going with that. However, that leaves me no room to upgrade. If I go with 50A, is it safe to step that down to 30A without damaging/frying my electrical system? I'm new to this, so forgive me if this is a bonehead question. I see 50A to 30A converter cords on Amazon, I just don't know enough about them to determine if this is safe.

Thanks!
Old 06-11-2019, 07:54 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Is it possible to have the electrician run both a 30A and 50A circuit to the place you are going to plug in? While the RV breaker should protect you against any current draw greater than 30A, having two 30A breakers in series, I would think, is better protection (also having an EMS like the Progressive unit, whether hard-wired or portable). As it is new construction, running a little extra wire and having an extra breaker (actually two for the 50A circuit) would seem like cheap "insurance" for the future.
Old 06-11-2019, 08:33 PM   #3
Site Team

I’d run 50, you can always step it down to 30 with a dogbone adapter. That said you could do as suggested above and run one a 30 and 50 (assuming it’s pretty close to the breaker panel. - the wire can get expensive). Run it onto a box just like at most RV Parks that have both.
Old 06-11-2019, 10:12 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner

Either solution will work quite well. The single 50 Amp costs less to install and the 50-30 Amp dog bone is totally safe to use.

The 30/50 Amp option is very nice and total added cost to the house is almost nothing in new construction.

I'd also consider adding a sewer and water connection while you're at it.