Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-02-2014, 10:29 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

2000 horizon high CO reading

I have a 36 foot 2000 horizon and when the water is running on propane the CO monitor in the bedroom goes up to at least 100. We can also smell the waterheater exhaust. Is this a normal situation? I have only owned this motorhome since August so I am still learning about it. Any help or suggestions would really be appreciated. Thanks a lot
Paulewog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 11:12 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise

I don't understand, "..when the water is running on propane.." Do you mean the water heater running on propane? Unless you are getting water from near fracking fields, running water shouldn't have noxious gases in it. It's not normal for the water heater exhaust to come into the motor home except if windows are open and the wind is just right, or you have a roof vent fan on. I'd strongly recommend you check the flame in water heater for correct adjustment, (blue flame, very little yellow) and that the exhaust has no obstructions. Close any windows above the heater on that side of the RV when operating water heater.

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 11:22 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Not good
Getting ready to hit the road, But still getting answers. So thanks for the help! 2006 Winnebago Sightseer 29R Ford F53. Roadmaster Eagle 8000. 2001 Ford F150 7700 4x4. Still shopping for toad brakes. FMCA F286179
bobandshaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 05:00 PM   #4

check for dust or spider webs around the gas orifice and blow it out