Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-28-2010, 05:57 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

12 Volt Breaker Problem

I have a 2000 Itasca Horizon. Over the last several trips out I have had a problem with the one of the 12 volt breakers. This circuit that this breaker controls is the one that handles the bathroom vanity light, the light in the shower and the light in the bedroom. If just one of the lights are on it is no problem. If more that one of the lights are turned on at once within a couple of minutes all of the lights begin to bling and then the breaker is tripped. I have owned the motorhome for over 3 years and this just started happening over the last several months. Is this simply a case of a breaker going bad? While I am no electrician, I am confident that I can replace the breaker myself. Is there anything else I should check in addition to replacing the breaker?

Thanks as always for the comments.

300 HP Cat Diesel
GaDawgFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 06:41 PM   #2
KIX
Winnebago Master

If the breaker trips with any combination of the 3 lights then I would have to agree with you that it sounds like a breaker going South.
Old 03-29-2010, 07:52 AM   #3
Winnebago Watcher

Check the wires to the breaker and be sure they are tight and located under the lug properly. Sometimes they work loose and heat up due to arching.
JLMunsil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 08:30 AM   #4

When did they start installing breakers for 12 volt systems versus fuses? All of my 12 volt coach systems are protected with numerous fuses. All of my 120 volt systems are protected with breakers.

Please enlighten me to where these 12 volt breakers are located? You have me very curious now as to what these are.

Dr4Film ----- Richard.
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 10:16 AM   #5
Winnebago Master