Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2011, 06:30 PM   #1
Winnebago Master

Would you install a clutch fan on a CAT 330?

Gents,
Since this coach is new to us, I'm still learning lots about it. A tiny bit of back ground here. I've been a back yard mechanic for decades so, I've got experience in lots of areas but, certainly no EXPERT in any of them. On many of the cars and trucks I've owned in the past, that came with solid drive fans, I've installed clutch fans for two reasons. One, they're considerably quieter in operation and, of course with the proper fan blade, they've always cooled very well.

Now this 2004 Itasca, 36GD with the 330 CAT in it, is the first vehicle I've owned in a zillion years with a solid drive fan. I've heard that some have installed the optional clutch fan in theirs. Well, if any of you have done it, what were your results of the system after the install? Did it cool as well, in the same given situation as it would without the clutch fan? Was the engine operation considerably quieter? I know and realize that these are rear radiator systems and, therefore don't have the benifit of "forced air" cooling like a front radiator does. So, cooling is important, obviously, and if the sacrifice of noise vs good cooling is the priority here, well then, the clutch fan install is out. But, I thought I'd ask.

Oh, by the way, one, if any of you did it, did you do it yourself, and if not, what was the cost either way? Thanks
Scott
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 06:36 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I'm no mechanic but I would be surprised if you could get the RPM from a clutch fan but I am assuming it would be electric.
Dadeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 06:43 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadeaux View Post