Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2007, 06:44 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 20
Am I correct that using a 50 amp 230 volt outlet is what I would need to be able to connect my coach hook my coach up to 50 amp service?
Gary_Phoenix, AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 06:44 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 20
Am I correct that using a 50 amp 230 volt outlet is what I would need to be able to connect my coach hook my coach up to 50 amp service?
Gary_Phoenix, AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 07:00 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 813
Gary, need more information on your request. On the surface, the answer to your question is 'yes', but you cannot just install a 50A line cord without changing some wiring in the circuit breaker panel in your coach.

Can you elaborate on what you want to do?
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 07:43 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 20
Have a 30 amp breaker in my panel which works find on my old coach which only had 30 amps.
Now with my new Vectra with 50 amp service I want to put a 50 amp double pole breaker in so I have 50 amp service to my coach.
Gary_Phoenix, AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 08:00 PM   #5
Winnie-Wise
 
TXiceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 432
Your old 30 amp is a 3-wire and you will have to run a new 4-wire service with two 50 amp breakers now. The new 50 amp will have a common neutral, two 110 volt hot leads and a ground.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2007, 08:08 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
Harry B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 358
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Have a 30 amp breaker in my panel which works find on my old coach which only had 30 amps.
Now with my new Vectra with 50 amp service I want to put a 50 amp double pole breaker in so I have 50 amp service to my coach. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Gary,

You also need to change the wiring from the breaker to the outlet. The 30 amp circuit uses 3 wires and 10 gauge wire. A 50 amp circuit for the coach will need as you said a new outlet but also needs 6 gauge wire to handle the additional load and 4 wires ( neutral , ground and two hot feeds)

You could run only 30 amps to a new outlet and just add the additional 10 gauge wire. This would give you a total of 60 amps (2x 30) instead of 2x 50-= 100 amps

60 amps is all the coach would ever need to run everything.

I installed this 30 amp setup (2x 30) at my daughter's house for when we visit and with both compressors and electric heaters working, etc, I have yet to pop a breaker

Make sure you install a dual 30 amp breaker instead of a dual 50 amp breaker, if you decide to hook it up this way.

Remember 30 amps needs 10 gauge wire thickness and 50 amps needs 6 gauge wire thickness. 6 gauge is thicker!!!
__________________
Harry
2015 Tuscany 40 KQ
2013 Honda CR-V
Harry B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 01:31 AM   #7
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,047
Do a search on 50 AMP wiring. You will find a diagram of how the wires should go to the box.

If you can't find it on this forum do a google search for 50 AMP RV Wiring.
There are many ways to sking a cat, but the best way is four wires of the right guage hooked up correctly. Good Miles and Be Safe
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 02:15 AM   #8
Winnie-Wise
 
dirko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Draper, UT
Posts: 309
Hi Ho: I think you have already got the info you need. What you are really asking is: How do I get a 50 amp service at my house? If there is a place for two 50-amp breakers in your box and you can run new wires to a 50-amp outlet, this is probably the way to go. I think it is confusing to call it 50-amp service since it is really two 50-amp breakers for a total of 100 amps. We are not talking 220-volt service here, but if they were hooked in series that is what you would have. If you don't have much experience with house wiring, get someone who can help you figure out the details. You can always use bigger wire than is required. For example, I used four #6AWG wires for my 30-amp service because it is about 80 feet from the breaker box and because we may want to put "50-amp" service in some day. The cost to do what you want will depend on the distance and how much work it is to put in new wires. Good luck.
dirko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 07:10 AM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 813
One caution relative to the advice in the above posts: Be sure that the circuit breaker is a double pole 50A breaker, not 2-single pole 50A breakers. The reason for this is if you have a fault in one side, you want both sides to trip to prevent serious damage or injury.

Same holds true if you go the 30A route as described above: 1-double pole 30A breaker.

Note in either of these scenerios you need an additional neutral wire -- thus the need for 3-conductors with ground. 30A requires 10 gauge wire; 50A requires 6 gauge wire. Converting an existing single pole 30A service to a double pole 30A service would require rewiring to 10/3 with ground. It's normally a 10/2 with ground.

My recommendation is to rewire it properly to a 50A service as designed. Use 6/3 with ground romex and a 2-pole 50A breaker at your house panel.

P.S. Yes, it is a 50A 230V service. The motorhome just does not utilize the 230V internally; only uses single pole breakers for all applications; thus only uses 110V for all utilities internal to the motorhome.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 07:17 AM   #10
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 20
Thanks everyone. Wanted to confirm I was doing it right. Well better go finish the project before it get to hot suppose to get to 104 today. It 83 degrees and it only 8:00 AM.

Thanks agin for the information
Gary
Gary_Phoenix, AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 09:08 AM   #11
JC2
Winnie-Wise
 
JC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Mo/Texas
Posts: 318
This might be of help also.
http://www.myrv.us/electric/
__________________
04 Newmar DSDP 4015-Cummins ISL 370hp-Spartan MM Chassis-2013 Chev Equinox AWD-Ready Brute Elite Towing System-FMCA 402879-SKP 120487 [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
JC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 11:50 AM   #12
Winnie-Wise
 
dirko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Draper, UT
Posts: 309
Hi Ho: I agree with Don that the best thing is a real dual 50 amp service. However, I don't see any reason that the breakers should be ganged a would be the case for a 220-volt installation. There are some bus conversions that use 220 volts, so in that case there would be an arguement for 2-pole breakers. Since most MH's use each side independently, I don't see why they should be ganged. Or, am I missing something?
Viel Spass
dirko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2007, 05:29 PM   #13
Winnebago Master
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 813
One reason why they should be ganged (dual-pole) is so that they pass the National Electric Code. If they are not ganged, it would be in violation and may be a safety hazard.

Here is the reason: You are using one wireset (6/3wg) where you can disable one of the hot conductors without disabling the other with 2-single pole breakers - thus a threat of electrocution to a person working on the service, thinking it was disabled.

A better reason is with 2 single pole breakers, it is possible to put both breakers on the same leg of the panel, thus the 2 positive conductors not being 180d out of phase. This would actually overload the neutral wire, causing the amperage to be double on that conductor, causing it to overheat and potentially cause a fire w/o popping the circuit breaker.

So whenever you use a common neutral for 2 positive circuits, the two positive circuits must be 180d out of phase with each other. This actually cancels out the amperage on the neutral wire if there is equal current on the 2 hot legs. By using a double pole breaker it guarantees you are drawing from the opposite legs of the panel.

And yes, you must use a double pole breaker in this wiring configuration for it to meet the National Electric Code.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 amp plug into 50 amp socket jgmcbride Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 35 04-05-2012 05:32 PM
Upgrading TV question mycoolbeans Tech | Toys and Gear 10 10-19-2008 04:38 AM
Spartan Chassis plug in "diagonistic" plug David K General Maintenance and Repair 24 12-21-2007 05:44 AM
upgrading the front TV CC38EL Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 13 05-02-2005 03:26 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×