Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-25-2014, 08:37 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Slide Out Seal Coming Out

Hi: This is my first time posting... hope I have the right forum. Could not find one on slide-outs.

When I extend the 12-13 ft. slide-out on my '97 Class A Itasca Suncruiser about 3-4 feet of the rubber/poly seal comes partially out on the front part of the unit. The rear seal is OK. I am wondering if there is a way to get it to stay in... .gluing or otherwise without having to remove the whole unit. The seal is not hard nor cracked and feels soft and maluable. I usually just push it back in the 3 inches or so and the seal works fine (no leaks).

I can see where I could probably get some glue of sorts behind the central portion of the rubber seal if I extend the slide only half way out and open the window on the front part to access it.

Any thoughts are appreciated.

You may e-mail me directly however that works in this forum/website.
tkamsal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 10:07 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Yes, you've found the right forum to post this question in. Hopefully, one of our experts will be along soon with suggestions.

Best of luck. We're glad you found us.

Rick

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 02:07 PM   #3
Winnie-Wise

Without seeing the seal i can only assume it either has a groove that part of it sets in or it is glued/ or originally attached with two way tape. If its taped/glued you can use some 3M trim adhesive found at most auto parts stores, comes in black or yellow.
Old 02-25-2014, 03:29 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper

Quote:
Originally Posted by garykk View Post