Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2014, 08:02 PM   #1
Winnie-Wise
 
bobpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south NJ
Posts: 423
Second Air Conditioning compressor only comes on when plugged into 110 volts, not whe

I am having trouble with my basement air.
When I am running my generator the second compressor does not come on.
Noting that in 85-90 degree weather it gets hot in the coach
Air temperature comming out of the roof vents goes above 70 degrees F.
Normally it comes out at 50 degrees F.
After arriving at he campground and plugging into power, the second compressor kicked on and the temperature comming out of the roof vents settled back down to 50 degrees F.
After getting back home I opened the electical box at the AC unit.Using a volt meter while the generator was running I had 117 V AC at only one of the compressor feed teminals.
Shut down and plug into AC power I had 120 V AC at both compressor feed terminals.
Any one know were I may be loosing power when the generator is running to the second compressor feed terminal.
__________________
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 08:07 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 82
Check the breakers on your generator. There is a separate breaker for the 2nd compressor.
Good Luck,
David
__________________
David, Linda and the kids - Pebbles & Yogi
2011 Winnebago Journey 34Y, 2015 Ford Explorer
W. TN
Yoda2405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 05:08 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 21
Agree about breaker. Happened to me.
bigdomino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 04:26 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise
 
bobpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south NJ
Posts: 423
Great, I thought that 20amp breaker was for that. I did check it yesterday at the same time I was checking out the electric.
That breaker was not tripped, I removed the cover and both the breakers came off with it.
I tested it after I pulled off the wires to the spade connectors using an ohm meter.
Continuity through it when in the on position, no continuity through it in the off position.
Does that mean the breaker is good? Or should I check it another way?
My Onan 5500 Emerald Gold has 2 breakers, One 30 amp, and One 20 amp. I am thinking the 20amp breaker supplies power to the 2nd air conditioning compressor
Thank you for your support and answers.
__________________
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 08:25 PM   #5
Winnebago Master
 
grtharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Skiatook, OK
Posts: 1,408
bobpie, here is a link to your wiring diagram. 50 amp service is the last page.
You could have a problem in the transfer switch with the one leg from the generator.
http://www.winnebagoind.com/diagram/2001/132292.pdf
__________________
Grant & Pat
2014 Adventurer 35P
2012 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 10:23 PM   #6
Winnebago Master
 
Jbmsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Apopka Fl.
Posts: 752
Second Air Conditioning compressor only comes on when plugged into 110 volts,...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grtharris View Post
bobpie, here is a link to your wiring diagram. 50 amp service is the last page.
You could have a problem in the transfer switch with the one leg from the generator.
http://www.winnebagoind.com/diagram/2001/132292.pdf

I second that. Turn coach battery's off unplug from shore power and disable the generator first. Test before touch. Could be a loose lug or burnt wire inside the transfer switch.
Jesse
__________________
You Only Live Once Travel!
2013 Winnebago Tour 42QD
Apopka FL.
Jbmsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 03:17 AM   #7
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,046
When I first got my coach the 20 amp feed from the generator to the second compressor had failed and they had to replace the transfer switch. The tech however wired it backwards and fed the 30 amp to the second compressor and the 20 amp to the main panel so I had problems throwing the breaker on the generator until I got back to them and had them switch the wires to the correct connections.
__________________
Neil V
2001 Winnebago Adventurer WFG35U
NeilV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 03:42 AM   #8
Winnie-Wise
 
bobpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south NJ
Posts: 423
Iwill take another look at the transfer switch, I did not see any thing odd with it the first time that I looked at it. I had to replace it about 4 years ago as I pulled out of the drive way with the coach still plugged in. OOPPSS. I have not had any problems since then with any electric.
I think I need to test the 20 amp breaker to see if it is operating. How?
__________________
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 04:27 AM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
Jbmsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Apopka Fl.
Posts: 752
Switch the wires connected to the two breakers temporarily. If nothing works in the coach it is a bad breaker.
__________________
You Only Live Once Travel!
2013 Winnebago Tour 42QD
Apopka FL.
Jbmsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 06:43 AM   #10
Winnie-Wise
 
bobpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south NJ
Posts: 423
OK. Hope to get out today and have a look see!
__________________
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2014, 04:13 PM   #11
Winnie-Wise
 
bobpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south NJ
Posts: 423
After fiddling around with it this passed weekend I guess I just got lucky and the thing is working. Maybe a loose wire, just a coinsidence, I don't know.
Perhaps a bad relay or a relay that is going bad and just started to work again.

It will probably happen when it gets to 95 degrees again.

I am just a little confused on how the power gets to the AC from the generator. I thougth it went to the AC circut breaker box and then to the AC unit.

This does not seem to be the case as the 20amp breaker on the generator supplies power to the 2nd AC compressor.

My coach is 30amp power cord AC.

When plugged into power I had power at both 1st and 2nd circuts in the electrical box of the AC unit.

When running on the generator I only had power at the 1st circut and not the 2nd circut in the electrical box of the AC unit.

Now I have power at both circuts in the electrical box of the AC unit when running on generator power or plugged into 30amp power.
__________________
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2014, 04:47 PM   #12
Winnebago Master
 
grtharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Skiatook, OK
Posts: 1,408
Wiring

bobpie, here is the A/C part of your wiring diagram.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	32v 120vac wiring.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	83.9 KB
ID:	74323  
__________________
Grant & Pat
2014 Adventurer 35P
2012 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 01:12 PM   #13
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,275
bobpie could you be running a load that the energy management system is setting as priority and dumping the A/C compressor?
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 09:05 PM   #14
Winnebago Master
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 695
Mine did that. Turned out to be a corroded connection in the A/C unit for 2nd compressor.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 07:05 PM   #15
Winnie-Wise
 
bobpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south NJ
Posts: 423
thanks grtharris,jerichorick,Ray,IN for the info and wiring schematic.
I was not sheading any loads at the power center, and there was not any shorted wires or corroded connections in the AC electrical box.
The AC electric box does have 2 relays in it and a separate schematic for the internals.
The above drawing is what I was missing.
Where the power to the 2 circuits come from. Now I SEE. Thanks.
__________________
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 10:00 AM   #16
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobpie View Post
thanks grtharris,jerichorick,Ray,IN for the info and wiring schematic.
I was not sheading any loads at the power center, and there was not any shorted wires or corroded connections in the AC electrical box.
The AC electric box does have 2 relays in it and a separate schematic for the internals.
The above drawing is what I was missing.
Where the power to the 2 circuits come from. Now I SEE. Thanks.
Your welcome. The diagram did the trick I see. No problems. Just the way things are. Your generator size could not handle the load if not wired as it is. Bummer for you when dry docking.
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 01:57 PM   #17
Winnebago Master
 
grtharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Skiatook, OK
Posts: 1,408
jerichorick bobpie will not have an issue when dry camping the generator will run both ac units. The issue is with the 30 amp service it will not run both AC units and the EMS will not shed the AC loads.
We had a early Vectra with a 30 amp service and it was wired the same way.
__________________
Grant & Pat
2014 Adventurer 35P
2012 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 08:00 AM   #18
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by grtharris View Post
jerichorick bobpie will not have an issue when dry camping the generator will run both ac units. The issue is with the 30 amp service it will not run both AC units and the EMS will not shed the AC loads.
We had a early Vectra with a 30 amp service and it was wired the same way.
My error. Thanks for the correction. I'll have to trust you on this one. I have mainly dealt with 50A systems. The jumpers in the transfer sw and the service center are different. The diagram lead me to believe that ckt 2 is fed by the generator and ckt 1 by the power cord for the AC unit. If the RED breaker is fed by the 30A breaker I can see where the AC is connected on generator and ckt 2 is isolated on shore power. Not a bad design for what they were trying to do. At least the full AC is available during the heat of the day from the genset operation. When it is cooler at night the shore power should be enough, in theory that is. I don't know if that would work in the summer desert or TX.

We had a 50A service in our '05 Vectra and it could not keep up with the Dallas heat in the summer. It got down to about 97 or 98 at night. But those are extreme conditions to be planned away from. Family matters forced the issue.

Again, thanks for forcing me to take a better look.

Rick Y
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 06:32 PM   #19
Winnie-Wise
 
bobpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south NJ
Posts: 423
OK now I am a little confused?
All was good when plugged into 30amp shore power.
The trouble was when running the air off of the generator power.
__________________
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 08:04 PM   #20
Winnebago Master
 
grtharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Skiatook, OK
Posts: 1,408
bobpie, Unless someone has changed the wiring at the ATS A/C compressor #2 is only connected to Circuit #2 on the generator. A/C compressor #1 is connected via a breaker to the 30 amp power cord or Circuit #1 on the generator.
What kind of amps are you pulling when connected to shore power and running the A/C?
__________________
Grant & Pat
2014 Adventurer 35P
2012 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioning, compressor


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugged in to 50 amp and only showing 30. dnystrom Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 35 06-17-2016 06:43 PM
2003 Journey second a/c compressor trips breaker Kelm130 Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 10 08-22-2014 06:07 AM
Plugging into 110 with coach batteries removed Nonno Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 18 12-31-2006 11:10 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×