Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-17-2012, 11:10 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Rust issues: Wishful thinking?

From the looks of things, the automotive industry solved their rust problem back in the '70's or 80's when they began to the rustproofing process of submerging the entire car in a solution prior to paint. I'm no expert on this but it appears that motor home manufacturers do little, or nothing to address the problem.

A few years back, prior to buying a new coach, I took tours of the Country Coach and Monaco manufacturing plants in Oregon. The process they used was to take steel components and weld them together without regard to rustproofing.

After a few years, I saw surface rust appear all over the undercarriage on my coach. We live in Utah where they salt the roads in the winter. The salt is a wonder rust promoter. Go figger.

Has anyone been through a tour of other motor home manufacturers and observed the rustproofing process, if any?

If there are no manufacturers with specific processes to address this problem, then it may well be a standard within the industry. If that is the case and it doesn't present a safety issue, then we can get out the crying towels and Rustoleum.

What think ye, fellow campers? What does Winnie do for rust prevention during manufacturing? What about Tiffin? Others manufacturers who allow tours????
Old 03-17-2012, 03:39 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

None of them do much about rust and nothing compared to the auto folks. What a shame.
Lault is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner