Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-30-2017, 04:23 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Recommended Tools for my RV

We're brand new to this RV thing and we're driving 6hrs north to Camping World -Madison WI next week to pick up our 32YE Sunstar. What tools do you all carry with you in your rigs? I'm a mechanical engineer and have a lot of tools, but no idea what sizes are being used on these things? I'm sure I'll figure it all out after our first couple trips, but looking for any help I can get on the front end just in case we have troubles on our maiden voyage back home.

Thanks all,
JSands72
jsands72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 12:20 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise

Personally, I am a craftsman freak and look for any excuse to buy new tools... I would recommend your typical wrenches, sockets, and screwdrivers. In addition, I would also recommend a good set of screwdriver bits. Craftsman is currently running a sale on a couple different sets. I like these kit because they have all of the unusual bits that are sometimes used on a motorhome. Lastly, never hurts to have a drill, drill bits, allen wrenches, and pex crimping tool. This would be a good start...

Good luck!
Rear Trac Bar, Safe-T-Plus, and 480 watt solar system.
Rossi6998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 03:46 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Thanks Rossi

The Pex tool is something I probably wouldn't have thought of until it was too late. Do the water lines have issues from time to time? Is there a standard line size these Winnys use by chance? Looking around at Pex tools, most aren't real cheap and they come in various sizes. Some are 3-in-1 of course, but they seem to run a little more. Did you buy one of the $25 crimpers, or go for the more expensive ones? I'll have to look around when we pick ours up and see what's doin' in there. Thanks for the tip.