Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > General Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-01-2008, 02:07 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner

I am new to the Winnebaggo forum so please tolerate my lack of knowledge. I just purchased a 2008 Sunstar and I noticed that there is only one vent in the bathroom and one in the middle of the coach. I would like to add a power vent to the front of the coach and one to the rear of the coach. Any advice? Thanks

2005 Honda Element
bjbkkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 03:48 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

Hi and welcome There is a friendly and knowledgeable bunch here, so nobody is going to jump in your stuff for asking a question.

While I have not cut any holes the size you would need in my roof, there is no reason why you couldn't in your roof. Call Winnebago and they will help you locate the structural roof members to be avoided.

The big challenge will be getting the wiring to the vent. That will take some head-scratching.

2005 Horizon 40AD, 2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
John_Canfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 04:27 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Before you go and cut holes in your roof, you might want to try using just the two vents you have. Crack open one window and turn on the middle vent. If it is not a powered vent, you can replace it fairly easly with a powered one. I like the Fanstatic vents. The folks there are great to work with and they stand behind and in front of their products. I think you will find that this will cool down your motorhome in a few minutes. This is what I have been doing for years with my 35 footer.

Anytime you cut holes in the roof, you are adding another place for future leaks.

And welcome to the forum.
Old 01-01-2008, 06:52 AM   #4