Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2014, 09:08 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 22
power problem

Currently reading manual but thought I would post on here for additional help.

2004 Itasca Suncruiser.

The problem:

Plugged in at house, breakers good, Hugh's Autoformer light shows good power and 12 v inverted outlet has 117 v. Power management system show 0 amps on 120 v and a/c, fridge and microwave have no ac power.

Start the generator and good power throughout MH.

All MH breakers I can find are good.

Planned a trip out Sunday, hope to have this fixed. Any thoughts appreciated.
cpd520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 09:21 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
vsheetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 227
So everything works ok on the generator, right? Outlets connected to inverter work ok, right? But when connected to shore power, no AC stuff works, right?

Transfer switch. Check volts in and out to see if you have volts out.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 09:21 PM   #3
Winnie-Wise
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 486
Is your autoformer before your auto transfer switch(ATS) or after power goes through ATS? The fact that the inverter outlet has 117 v means nothing, it's getting it's power from the inverter and batteries, not shore power. If your ATS isn't working, it defaults to generator power. When you plug in shore cord you should hear a clunk from the big relay switching over to shore power connection.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 09:43 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
So everything works ok on the generator, right? Outlets connected to inverter work ok, right? But when connected to shore power, no AC stuff works, right?

Transfer switch. Check volts in and out to see if you have volts out.
Hate to sound dumb... how do I check the transfer switch?
cpd520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 09:57 PM   #5
Winnie-Wise
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 486
Take the lid off it and you should see 3 large cables coming in. One from the shore cord, one from the generator, one going to your power panel with circuit breakers. Using a multimeter, test for voltage at the screw terminals of the shore cord coming in. Then measure at the terminals of cable going to power panel. The ATS senses electricity and then closes contacts on a large relay to switch power to shore cord. When at 'rest' it connects power from generator to the power panel. You've reported it works in that setting. As I said, when plugging in shore cord, a loud clunk should be heard signaling the ATS has switched on power from shore to power panel. With everything unplugged, you can try moving the mechanism of the relay by hand. Also, check that all screw terminals holding down the large wires are tight. They can loosen from vibration and create connection issues.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 09:59 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 196
You are looking for a box about 8-10 inches square That has two different large cables going into the box and one large cable coming out of the box. One is for shore power, one for generator power and the third is the cable going to your main electrical panel.

Remove the cover and using your DVOM measure between Leg # 1 and Neutral, then measure between Leg #2 and Neutral. You should get 120 VAC on your meter each time. Measure the shore power coming in and then measure the shore power going out. If you have none going out, then you have a bum transfer switch.

Leg #1 & #2 should be RED and BLACK. The NEUTRAL wire should be WHITE.

BTW my transfer switch operates differently than BFlinn181 states. My ESCO transfer switch is in the standard position for shore power. The relay only works when the generator is powered up to call for generator power. There is a delay built into my transfer switch so the generator relay will not clunk in until the generator has come up to speed and running smooth.

You have to be VERY careful while you have LIVE shore power to the box. If you touch something incorrectly you can fry yourself.

If in doubt have an experienced electrician do the testing.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 10:03 PM   #7
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
I have this exact same model and year motorhome as you. I have seen this problem before when plugged into a 30 amp circuit. Your transfer switch should put 120 volts on l1 and l2. If one of those legs does not have power, your power management system will not transfer power into the coach. Because you can get the coach power on with a generator is telling us that the transfer switch or the auto transformer has a problem. If you're comfortable with working with the circuit breaker panel off, measure the voltage coming in on the two 50 amp circuit breakers to neutral. Both should have 120 volts to neutral. If one line is absent, you need to go upstream next to your transfer switch. Again you need to be comfortable with doing this type of work, else take it into someone to have it checked.
bbtyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 10:06 PM   #8
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks all, I will give it a try 1st thing in the morning.
cpd520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 08:49 AM   #9
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 22
Found the problem.



It's been very hot (100+) and I had the ac set at 95 on a 30 amp service. Think I over did it.
cpd520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 03:11 PM   #10
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks everyone for the help. New transfer switch is in and all is good.
cpd520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no power unless hooked to shore power ken551 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 06-21-2012 05:55 PM
No power in house when off shore power. Batteries good. wbezemek Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 13 01-04-2012 07:16 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×