Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-26-2007, 05:43 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

My wife seem to hear new sounds every time we take the MH out. This time she heard a screeching sound coming from the right side of the coach while in motion. I told her to ignore it until something breaks! The sound was really starting to get to her. On our second camping stop, we noticed a metalic squeek when we closed the coach door. It sounded like a parking brake cable hitting the drive shaft. We were staying at a friend's house and he decided to see if he could find the source of the noise. I kept slamming the door while he poked around underneith the coach. It turns out there is "heat shield" that runs along the side of the exhause. Being a welder by trade, he noticed there were two broken spot welds. The front of the heat shield was rubbing on the frame crossmember just behind the transmission. As soon as he pulled it away from the frame, the squeeking stoped! He tied off the heat shield with a wire and that is the end of the latest noise! Can't wait to hear (then find) the next irritating noise!

Old 04-26-2007, 05:43 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner