Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-04-2014, 06:22 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

HWH jacks

I am very new to RV'ing. We just purchased a 2001 Winnebago Journey 36DL. Never had a slide before, nor did we have jacks.
Question: Does the engine need to be running for the jacks to work?
I know it's a dumb question, but I really need an answer.We're about to take 'er out for our first outing.
Thanks,

Steve
kb9adw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 06:42 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb9adw View Post
I am very new to RV'ing. We just purchased a 2001 Winnebago Journey 36DL. Never had a slide before, nor did we have jacks.
I know it's a dumb question, but I really need an answer.We're about to take 'er out for our first outing.
Thanks,

Steve
Steve,

You should not need to have the engine running. In fact it may cause a problem with the air bags if you have them. You should only need the ignition in the accessory position. If you have air bags I believe you have to dump the air before you extend the jacks.

Roy
Too Slow 90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 07:16 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

kb9adw, As long as your batteries are in good shape you do not need to run the engine. The air bags will dump as soon as you turn on the leveling system. Parking brake must me on and the ignition in the accessory position . The jack do use a lot of power but are not as voltage sensitive as the newer systems.
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 10:01 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner