Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2012, 02:48 PM   #1

Food for thought;;

I am having a hard time accepting the reason the Winnebago dropped the Basement air in there Motorhome line up;;; I keep hearing some thing about the air tanks for clean air; Having to put them where the air is located. , I can except that. BUT will someone please explain to me why the early Vectra had the unit located in MID coach and it worked Real good. Now for some reason it can't be put there... I am a loyal Winnebago coach owner (have had 3 basement airs and loved them) however Now we are looking at other Manufactures, coaches, Basement air was our deal maker in the past. Plus We could put it in our garage ;;; Comeon Winnebago Bring it back::: show us you can do it.. Life is good;
bachler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:19 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

There are several things that change over the years, One is federal law however I do not see how this would affect this issue.. Another is engineers. One man retires, a new hire takes his place and over time that new hire (As others retire) moves up to "Senior Design Engineer"

Perhaps the former "New kid" that was hired 20 years ago and is now senior knows that air conditioners work better mounted on the roof.

And now that I think of it.. There is a federal law that changed too. It requires appliances to be more efficient, See "on the roof works better". and now you have two reasons.
Old 09-06-2012, 04:26 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

IMHO, 2 roof AC units cost less than 1/3 what a basement unit cost.

-Tom
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 05:21 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise

I could not agree more with the OP. Funny thing you bring up the clearance of your garage as I have the same thing. With roof tops, mine would have to sit outside which is a no no for me. Love my basement air!