Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-16-2019, 05:51 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Electric charging problems 2015 Winnebago Via 25T

I have a 2015 Winnebago Via 25T.

My house batteries went dead on the last day of traveling from Florida to Nova Scotia, Canada.
I spent three nights in free camping spots and did not use my generator. I assumed that the charge I got from driving would keep my batteries up as we don't use a lot of power when traveling.
When I got home I plugged into shore power and found volts would go up to 12.8 only.
I am not a techie, so went to visit my friend.
He tested batteries, they were OK. Batteries did not seem to be charging when I ran the engine. Started the generator and batteries went up to 13.8.
Found the chassis batteries and they were charging at 13.9 volts.
Seems to us the problem is that batteries are not receiving a charge.
Batteries were replaced in November 2018 on way to Florida.

Ant thoughts??
xray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 08:48 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

I am a newbie to all this but I come from nearly 30 years of sailboats. Did you maybe leave something on that should be off when travelling? Something is/was drawing enough energy to deplete the house batteries, and it was probably running for awhile before it drained your batteries completely. Something small. A fridge light on a not properly closed fridge? That's where I would start looking.
Old 05-17-2019, 07:13 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

It does sound like some sort of parasitic or unintended draw on the coach/house batteries. Is your fridge a 3-way, AC/DC/Propane? If so, was it on DC when you stopped driving for any length of time? Absorption fridges with a DC setting can be battery killers. Or as Eric said, some other draw down. Check the external storage compartments, if any of them have DC lighting.
Winterbagoal is offline   Reply With Quote